Honesty Time

Dear Loyal Blog Readers,

18 Comments

(or, as I like to call you, Other Bloggers, Diana, Brett, and Kimmi)

I need your advice. I have an idea for a new blog, but I have no idea if it will work or if anyone will care. Is it rude to talk about a different blog on my current blog? Perhaps, but it wouldn’t even slightly be in competition with Honesty Time, so I think it’s okay in this circumstance.

I miss being an English major. I don’t care what anyone says about English majors being screwed in terms of the job market. I loved my major. Also, every job I know of requires some basic level of understanding of the English language as well as critical thinking skills, and that’s basically what being an English major is. But now is not the time to defend the college/major choice I made when I was 18. I don’t regret it, even if I’ll always be poor. At least I’ll be creating and helping others create.

It's exactly like this.

It’s exactly like this.

I’m not in a place right now where going back to school makes sense. I don’t have the money or the need for my career, and if I was to go back, I’d study something practical, not necessarily something I love. What I miss about being an English major is the reading, the analyzing, and the discussions. As far as I’m concerned there’s nothing better than reading books, writing about them in absurd detail, and then getting into heated discussions with other passionate people.

I miss it. I miss picking out one minute detail from a book and writing a 12 page paper on it. I miss ripping apart works of literature to find hidden meaning where there probably is none. Sometimes it’s nice to appreciate books on face level and never look any deeper than that. But it’s way more fun to dive in and really focus on the details. For me, anyway.

So that brings me to my idea. I want to get back to writing about books, but not ones that are assigned to me, just ones that I love or am interested in. I want to start a blog where I read a book, and one chapter at a time, I analyze the plot, characters, themes, all that good stuff. Don’t worry — I’ll keep up my usually witty banter that everyone enjoys (don’t lie to me). It will be a place for me to propose my ideas a couple times a week (or as fast as I can read), and for others to comment with their own. I would encourage people to read along with me…it could be like a virtual book club of sorts.

So the question I’m posing to you (and please respond to me in the comments) is if this is actually a good idea. Is this something people have any interest in? Should that even matter, or should I just do it because I want to? Also, does the fact that I would like to start with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s/Philosopher’s Stone sway anyone’s opinion in favor of this idea? And most importantly, what the heck should I name the blog? I’m terrible at naming things.

harry-potter

I already write for two blogs, and I love it. But both of those blogs only require me to post once a week, both on Thursdays. I have a full time job and I don’t read as much as I want to, but I feel like this is a commitment I could make. That I would make. It’s something I’m passionate about, and if I want to further my career, I need to write more.

Thanks for reading what I’m sure was a really boring post for most of you. But this is what has been on my mind since I came up with this idea two days ago, so that’s what I’m writing about.

You are all the best.

Sincerely,
Dame Lori Samantha Jesus Reiter IV, Esq.

(check my birth certificate, yo.)

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

18 thoughts on “Dear Loyal Blog Readers,

  1. I think you should go for it, especially if it makes you happy, connects to your love of reading, and you get to write about Harry Potter (jk but really Harry Potter). I was thinking something similar for teacher/theatre things (plays and the random lesson plan) but I’m not sure if I’ll keep up with it. If you can and will, do it. You are your own boss.

    Also, it should be called The Reiter Reader. no? I have no idea. None of my characters ever had any names when I used to write. All of my cats have their shelter names. I have no idea.

    • Yeah, I realize I probably shouldn’t seek the opinions of others when deciding if I should do something I know I want to do. And I want to do it mostly because…Harry Potter.

      You should at least attempt to start your blog. It doesn’t hurt to try, and it could turn out to be something you really enjoy.

      I’ll add The Reiter Reader to he list of potential names, which right now consists of “The Reiter Reader.”

  2. Do it! I am willing to sacrifice some Lori-Brett Face Time. And Allyssa, I am extremely disappointed in you. Where is my corn post?

  3. I GOT A SHOUTOUT!!! My life is complete. Guess what! I did a headstand at work today. In the staff photo.

    Oh wait. This isn’t about me, is it? I fully support this blog endeavor. I just said last week that I want to join a book club. I’ll join your virtual book club.

    There I go making it about me again. As if you aren’t used to that by now.

  4. Write because you want to, not because of what people want. Do it if it makes you happy :)

    • You are totally right. I know it’s silly to ask for reassurance, but sometimes I can’t help it. I’m only human, right? Thanks for your comment :)

  5. I thought I commented on this- I guess that’s what I get for trying to do it from my phone. What I meant to say is, I think this is a great idea and I will definitely try to follow along! Also, I think you should definitely make use of the Reiter/reader connection, it’s too good not to! Good luck!

    • Thanks! I will definitely have to think about it a little more to figure out the details and the name. I’ll let you all know when I’m ready to start. Then you guys can help me decide which books to read.

  6. As a rule I don’t comment on blogs but I just want you to know that I READ THIS. If you wrote another blog I would read that too.
    I might even consider participating in a family blog guest appearance if it included a headstand contest because I would probably win.

    • Ah I didn’t know! I thought everyone had abandoned it after I first sent out the email until Kimmi started texting me about some of what I’d written. I should probably have more faith in you guys. This week the blog will be dedicated only to you…

  7. Pingback: Check Out Our New Blog! | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers