Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

One of Those Days

Leave a comment

If you have read my about me, you will know that I am currently employed at a local movie theater as an assistant manager.  I can’t even begin to tell you how many people will say “A movie theater?! That must be the best job!” or “Wow! That is cool.  You must like it…do you like it?”  Well…a day in the life of me will probably shed some light on what I deal with on a day-to-day basis.

Let me start by saying that my life is not a lot of things, but if it is anything it is consistent.  I usually wake up every morning at around 8am even though I have work at 12:30pm.  Why not sleep later some might say? Well I can’t sleep much later.  Yes I have tried.  Yes even on the weekends.  Secondly, seeing as I do not have a “real job,” I use that spare time to scour the eternal ends of the Internet searching for my dream job in the arts.

Almost every day it seems as though I have to deal with some pretty ridiculous issues.  Customers continuously complain about everything.  They complain that we are not open at 8:15 am on a weekday morning.  They complain about high prices.  The all digital projectors break and the movie is 2 minutes late.  I can probably list pages of complaints.  It is endless.

As previously mentioned, the projectors usually have some kind of glitch that seem to occur only when I am on schedule.  9 times out of 10 I just guess how to fix the problem and some days I get lucky. Woo! Go me!  But, my favorite has to be when companies show up expecting payment for a bill that the theater has “forgotten” to pay.  It is all pretty much the worst.  However, the situation I am about to reveal is definitely a new one.  I really do not even know why I am surprised anymore at this point.

I pull into the parking lot a couple weeks ago, enjoying the gorgeous weather.  I have my windows down and I am thoroughly enjoying my music.  I am in a great mood.  I put my car in park and my mood goes from great to awkward in about one minute.  What caused this surge of mixed emotions? I noticed an elderly man, probably close to the 70-80 year old range, leaning with his hand against the building and facing away from the parking lot.  Initially, I was concerned because I thought he was having trouble breathing seeing as he was wearing a winter coat in 70-degree weather.  It took me all of 10 seconds to realize what I was actually witnessing.  If you haven’t guessed already, I watched an old man “relieve himself.”  That is right…He was peeing on the building.  He was out in the open, not even bothering to walk to the Wendy’s, which is situated literally 40 feet away.    That day I learned that the old saying holds true.  “When ya gotta go, ya gotta go!”

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

