Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

A Day in My Life

3 Comments

Writing a blog about a day in my life is a terrible introduction to who I am as a person and what I want my section of the blog to be about. My everyday life is exceedingly tedious, boring, and…normal. In my head, I’m much more interesting than my daily life looks on paper. So bear with me, readers (hi Mom & Dad!), as I try to make my life a little more entertaining.

I chose an arbitrary day to write about because I was in a good mood and the site is launching so I have to get my act together.

As usual, my day begins at 6:15 am with the insufferable moaning of my cat Oliver, looking to be fed.

It’s hard to say no to this face.

I ignore him until 6:30 when my alarm goes off. Then I ignore him for another 10 minutes until I feel like actually opening my eyes.

By 7:15, I’m out the door and on my way to work. My commute to work is the worst part of the day. Seriously, if you want to see hell on Earth, just try to drive 12+ exits on the Garden State Parkway during rush hour. It is the worst. I listen to my favorite Survivor podcast, Rob Has a Podcast. I’d go more into it, but I won’t pretend that anyone else cares.

I get to work by 8:20, which means I actually made fairly good time. But it also means that I have to start working.

And this is where my day descends into a black hole of WordPress, metas, blogs, and press releases. I am a writer, but the writing I do is fairly minimal because of my junior position, which is fine. I know I have to pay my dues and all that, but my job gets boring even for me, nevermind anyone else reading about it.

My boss tells me she likes my shirt. I make a mental note to let my mom know that the shirt she bought me for $10 at Costco is getting compliments.

I spend most of the day pretty focused on my work, and nothing too exciting happens. And by “pretty focused on my work,” I mean, focused except for the conversations I’m having on GChat. I talk to my friend Diana pretty much every day. On this particular day I’m also talking to fellow blogger Rachel.

But, seriously. Let’s marry each other.

Diana and I discuss Survivor (get used to it.) and our potential plans for the next time she’s in town. Rachel and I get into a weirdly serious conversation about life, relationships, and growing up. We don’t get too deep because we are actually working at the same time. I’m pretty good at multi-tasking. Write that on my resume.

I decide to eat lunch at my desk. I do that most days. There are a few reasons why I do this. And shockingly, being anti-social is not really one of them.

  1. I am broke. I am trying really hard to save money so I can move out of my parents’ house sooner rather than later. And I’ve done the math. Buying lunch every day in the cafeteria costs like $150 a month, on average. And that’s absurd.
  2. I have no self-control. The food in the cafeteria will inevitably be better than any sad sandwich or salad I make for myself. So I could just bring the lunch I make at home and eat it in the cafeteria with everyone else, but I find it depressing. Because my food is never that good, so I’ll probably end up buying something there anyway.
  3. I am trying to sort of be healthy. It’s not that I can’t get a salad or a sandwich in the cafeteria. But why would I pay money for that when I could make the same salad or sandwich at home for way cheaper? So I’m going to get the mac & cheese or the grilled cheese or anything that promises cheese will be involved.  And that’s why it is inevitable that I’m going to get fat.
  4. I want to leave at 4:30. I get to work at 8:30 every day with the sole goal of leaving 8 hours later. Technically, if we take a lunch break, that doesn’t count in our 8 hours. And as much as I love my coworkers, I love being able to get into my pajamas as soon as humanly possible more.

Let’s speed this up, because, as I said, I’m boring myself. I spend the rest of the afternoon working, periodically talking to my friends and coworkers, and listening to podcasts. The one great thing about my job is that I can listen to music/books/podcasts for about 10+ hours a day, if you include my commute. I’m sure I will write a blog about podcasts in the future, but here are 5 of my favorite, non-Survivor related podcasts:

  • The Nerdist
  • Doug Loves Movies
  • The Dead Authors Podcast
  • You Made it Weird with Pete Holmes
  • Mike and Tom Eat Snacks

This is a rare day when we don’t have any meetings or anything, so I actually finish most of what I need to get done. I leave at 4:30 and I get home by 5:40. The best part about still living with my parents is that my mom always makes dinner. So I eat dinner with them, consider for about 5 seconds going to the gym, decide not to, and get into my pjs. I spend the rest of my night talking to my boyfriend on Google+ (yes, there are people in the world that use it) and hanging out with Willow.

This is her bed. I just sleep in it.

This is her bed. I just sleep in it.

 

I say bye to him at 9:30, spend the next half hour or so reading, and then fall asleep between 10 and 10:30.

And then I do it all over again tomorrow.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

3 thoughts on “A Day in My Life

  1. Hahaha I love it. You’ve inspired me to start listening to podcasts (probably not Survivor realated, sorry!). Also, I think you and Rachel are on to something- can we all get married and be like sisterwives?

  2. Pingback: Commuting: A Comedy of Errors | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

