Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Banana Berry Oatmeal Muffins

1 Comment

This past Sunday I woke up with the intention of going down to the kitchen and having a nice, peaceful cup of coffee at the table.  As soon as I reached the bottom of the stairs though, I could tell that this would not be the case.  The serene morning sounds of the upstairs were quickly replaced by the sounds of crazy people who had already been awake for hours.  Refrigerator doors opening and closing, unidentified frozen tupperware hitting the wooden table, and conversations like the following:

“What is this?”

“I don’t know, how old do you think it is?”

“Is it the bolognese sauce?”

“No, the bolognese was in plastic bags, that’s something else.”

My parents were cleaning out the freezer.  At 7:30 am on a Sunday morning.  One thing that without fail, always comes out of our freezer cleaning sprees is a bunch of brown frozen bananas.  Today there were 5, destined to become banana bread as always.  As I watched them sit sadly on the counter for most of the day, slowly thawing into mush, I decided that instead of the same old banana bread that we always have, I wanted to make muffins.

So, here they are.  This is particularly exciting because usually whenever I bake something I stick exactly to the recipe, but today I decided to make some substitutions, and they still came out great.  I’ve had a muffin for breakfast every day this week, okay fine, two muffins.

I used this recipe as a guide:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Healthy-Blueberry-and-Banana-Muffins-232549

and made the following substitutions:

-skim milk for soy milk

-old fashioned oatmeal for oat bran

-frozen mixed berries for frozen blueberries

**Allyssa, I’m sorry, these are not gluten free, but I would imagine you could also substitute gluten free flour for regular.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Another tip I would add looking back- some of the strawberries were so heavy in these little muffins that they made the bottoms fall off!  I would either cut the berries smaller, or use a bigger muffin tin next time.  All in all I think they were really great, super easy, nice and small, and the berries make them taste and look very spring-y!!

One thought on “Banana Berry Oatmeal Muffins

  1. It’s ok that they aren’t gluten free – they look so good. I just got really hungry looking at those.

Be Honest!

