Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Summer time!

6 Comments

Photo from blog.shopbop.com I want to ride my bike a lot this summer since I'm hoping to not take my car when I move.  I can only hope to look half as stylish as these two.

Photo from blog.shopbop.com
I want to ride my bike a lot this summer since I’m hoping to not take my car when I move. I can only hope to look half as stylish as these two.

Since Memorial Day was on Monday that means it’s (unofficially) summer!  It doesn’t even matter that it’s cold and rainy at the moment and that I’m bundled up in fuzzy slippers and a sweatshirt- I am so excited!  All week I have been day dreaming about hot sunny days and late dinners cooked on the grill and eaten outside.  Followed by ice cream, of course.

Here are some of the things that I’m most excited about:

 No pants

After a winter of being bundled away in pants and boots, I am ready for my legs to feel the sun and the breeze in pretty dresses, skirts, and cut off shorts. I have been on the look out for the perfect t-shirt dress that can be worn over a bathing suit at the beach and then out to dinner all in the same day, mostly because I’m lazy.

Parties

Most people get married in summer for obvious reasons.  This means that there are not only many weddings to celebrate, but also bridal showers and anniversaries.  Also in my family for some reason, almost everyone is born in June.  I’m not complaining though, it’s a lot of gifts to buy, but summer party dresses and fruity summer day drinking makes it all worth it.  Plus every event is like a mini family/high school/college reunion!

Fun Exercise (or no exercise)

There are so many ways to exercise in summer that don’t even feel like exercise at all,  like going hiking, bike riding, and swimming.  All winter long it feels so forced to go to the gym or get on some cardio contraption, but in summer it’s so much easier to just go about your day and get some exercise at the same time.  Also, spending the whole day pulling weeds out of the garden and sweating really makes me feel like I deserve some desert!

Campfires

It’s should come as no surprise that I’m not the biggest fan of camping, way too many spiders and other creepy crawly things.  I am however, a very big fan of campfires and cook-outs, I just like to end them in my own bed.  I love sitting around a campfire and cooking s’mores. I’ve tried many times to recreate them in the middle of winter in the microwave or oven but it really doesn’t taste the same at all and feels kind of pathetic.

Exploring

I’m so excited to be moving to a new city this summer (I swear it’s really happening), and I have visions of taking long leisurely weekend walks around exploring new neighborhoods.  I picture walking around parks, stopping in little restaurants for drinks, and doing new touristy things, like seeing the Liberty Bell and eating cheese-steaks, or watching other people eat cheese-steaks.  If anyone knows Philadelphia and wants to tell me that I am totally wrong about this, that would be good, I am all about managing expectations.

Strawberry Shortcake

I almost forgot this one, but it really deserves a category of it’s own.  Ice cream is especially great in summer, but ice cream is actually great all year round.  Strawberry shortcake is by far my favorite summer desert and, I think, can only truly be enjoyed in summer.  Otherwise, it’s like putting a beach towel on your floor and laying in your bathing suit in February.  It’s sort of fun, but it’s also a little bit uncomfortable and just not the same.  I plan on eating strawberry shortcake (the homemade kind) as often as possible, it is almost strawberry season!  Oh, the same goes for corn on the cob and watermellon.

I could go on forever right now but this list is getting long enough.  Although, if you ask me again in 3 months how I feel about all of these things and I’m sure I’ll say that I’m sick of all of them and I can’t wait for snow, sweaters, and hot chocolate. I don’t think I could ever live somewhere without distinctly different seasons.  But for now, it’s summer, so let’s wear short dresses, ride our bikes, and eat corn with our fruity drinks!

6 thoughts on “Summer time!

  1. last time i was in philly it was back in october and was still pretty warm out. we spent the day wandering around the city, eating pizza, hanging out in love park, and going to a farmer’s market. so you can totally expect that while you are there.

    but…cheese steak? have you abandoned the veg thing so far that you eat red meat now? i feel like i don’t even know you anymore…

  2. I keep wanting to try to make a really good, gluten free strawberry shortcake because it’s also one of my very favorites. We used to eat it all summer. Maybe that’s what I’ll try to figure out this week.

    • You definitely should, homemade shortcake is mandatory! I’m sure gf would still be better than the spongy store bought cakes.

Be Honest!

