Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

10 Things I Hate About You

Leave a comment

Image

In honor of movie week I have decided to share share some parts of the first movie that I ever bothered to memorize lines from.  Back in high school, one of my best friends and I used to watch 10 Things I Hate About You every chance we got, and we would quote our favorite lines back and forth to each other every day.  I don’t know what drew us to this movie in particular, especially considering it was years after it had originally come out.  I don’t think it was the story line, we even saw The Taming of the Shrew as a basis for comparison, but it just didn’t measure up to our beloved TTIHAU.  Part of the appeal was obviously Heath Ledger (RIP) playing the bad-boy turned heart throb Patrick and Joseph Gordon Levitt as Cameron the sweet but nerdy, nice-guys-finish-last-guy.  I mean what more could you ask from a movie, cute boys playing stereotypical teenage romance characters?  I tried to remember as many of the lines that I could to share with you, but it’s been awhile and didn’t want to mix them all up, so I cheated.

Walter Stratford: Hello, Katarina.  Make anyone cry today?

Kat Straford: Sadly, no.  But it’s only 4:30.

Chastity: I know you can be overwhelmed, and I know you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?

Bianca: I think you can in Europe.

Bianca:  You don’t buy black lingerie unless you want someone to see it.

Bianca:  There’s a difference between like and love.  Because, I like my Skechers, but I love my Prada backpack.

Chastity: But I love my Skechers.Bianca: That’s because you don’t have a Prada backpack.

Bianca: Where did you come from? Planet “loser”?

Kat: As opposed to Planet “Look at me, Look at me”?

Random student(when asked if he’ll date Kat): Maybe if we were the last two people on Earth, and there were no sheep?  Are there sheep?

Kat Stratford:  What is it, Asshole Day?

Kat Stratford:  I guess in this society, being male and an asshole makes you worth of our time.

Kat Stratford: Have you seen the unwashed miscreants that go to that school?

Kat Stratford:  I’m sorry.  Looks like you’ll just have to miss out on the witty reparte of  Joey “Eat Me” Donner.

And there you have it, the top 10 most memorable lines from 10 Things I Hate About You.  Like I said, I’m still not entirely sure what the appeal was, but for a while we were obsessed.  I’m seriously considering re-introducing things like “What is it, Asshole Day?”, and “Where did you come from? Planet (insert insult here)?” to my vocabulary, you can say stuff like that in real life right? I haven’t watched this movie in years, but now I’m not sure if I could ever turn it down.  Actually, I might have to go check Netflix right now.

Oh and this, of course:

 10 Things I Hate About You

Be Honest!

