Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Life Lessons I Learned from Mary-Kate & Ashley

3 Comments

When we decided that this month’s theme week was going to be movies, I was at a total loss of what to write about. I was staring at my DVD collection looking for inspiration, and it soon became clear: the Olsen twins.

My collection.

My collection.

Fun fact about me: I own a lot of Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen movies.

I have always held a special place in my heart for all things MK & A. I still miss when ABC Family used to play marathons of their movies on Super Bowl Sunday. Thank God for the Puppy Bowl. Otherwise there would be nothing to do on Super Bowl Sunday but watch football. Who wants to do that?

The Olsen twins taught me many lessons. Without them, my life would be totally different. I’ve listed some of these lessons below (thanks to Diana for helping me out).

FYI, I based this just off of the later movies, basically from Passport to Paris to The Challenge.

  1. No matter where in the world you go and for how long, you and your best friend WILL find a pair of cute boys to fall in love with.

    So many boys to choose from...

    So many boys to choose from…

  2. There are only two personalities twins can have: the sporty, smart, down-to-earth tomboy (MK) and the ditzy, flirty, boy crazy girly-girl (A). Either that or they both have the exact same personality.
  3. Having a twin is like having an accessory. Even if you have different personalities (see #2), you have to coordinate your outfits. You don’t have to wear the same outfit, but you do have to match.

    Note the subtle differences.

    Note the subtle differences.

  4. When you turn 16, not only will your parents buy you a red convertible, but they will allow you to go on an unsupervised road trip with teenage boys.

    Pictured above: Good parenting.

    Pictured above: Good parenting.

  5. When you are arrested for stealing a boat in another country, they will totes just let your parents bail you out of jail without pressing charges or with any help from the U.S. Embassy.
  6. When you go on a reality show, it’s totally cool to break your contract and the rules of the game. They’ll still let you win, as long as you look cute doing it.

    Best reality show ever.

    Best reality show ever.

  7. It’s super easy to meet and win over really important people in other countries (i.e. politicians or famous fashion designers) when you are a student or an intern. They are so invested in the lives and futures of random American teenagers.
  8. No matter what’s going on in your life or how high the stakes are at a given moment, there is always time for a montage of you and your friends trying on clothes.

    All English people dress like this. True story.

  9. It’s a total bummer when your parents want to take your whole family and the family of a super cute boy that’s in love with you to the Bahamas when all you want to do is go on a school trip to Hawaii! Because school trips to Hawaii totally happen in real life.
  10. No matter how much you fight with your friends or sisters (over boys, clothes, how to take down an international jewelry heist, etc.), you will still always be BFFLs.

These movies were a huge part of my childhood. I don’t even like them ironically. I genuinely enjoy every second of every one of these movies. I could probably come up with a list of another 10 lessons.

And I didn’t even get into the amazingness of Switching Goals and Billboard Dad.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

3 thoughts on “Life Lessons I Learned from Mary-Kate & Ashley

  1. BILLBOARD DAD. That is all.

  2. Pingback: The Greatest CD of All Time | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

