Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

You’re killin’ me, Smalls!

Leave a comment

The Sandlot

 

I remember watching this movie when I was really young, and being terrified by a giant dog that jumped over a fence and stole baseballs from a bunch of screaming kids and destroyed every clever creation they came up with. I hid under my blankets and swore I would never watch it again. Fast forward 20 years and it’s my favorite movie. It would occasionally be on TV and when I stopped to actually watch the whole thing, I realized it was the movie that had previously scared me half to death as a child. I probably also stopped to watch because Benny was Luis from “The Mighty Ducks” trilogy (also fantastic movies). Moving past that, I began to incorporate lines into my everyday speak. I reference the s’mores scene whenever I think about making s’mores. Any time I see an English mastiff, I without thinking call it “the beast.” Recently, the movie has been screening in major league ballparks in honor of its 20 year anniversary. I’ve also come across the “Where Are They Now?” sites and I have to pretend that they’re all still kids. The worst was seeing a picture of the actual sandlot they filmed on and it’s wasted away to nothing. Horrible. That is no way anything from this great film should be. Anyway, here’s what I think are the top 5 quotable lines from “The Sandlot”:

5. ‘BOUT TIME BENNY MY CLOTHES ARE GOING OUT OF STYLE

Squints says this to Benny when Benny is trying to teach Scotty how to catch and throw a baseball. I use this whenever someone is taking forever to do something. Mostly because I’m impatient. Like Squints I guess.

 

4. EVERYBODY GETS ONE CHANCE TO DO SOMETHING GREAT. MOST PEOPLE NEVER TAKE THE CHANCE, EITHER CAUSE THEY’RE TOO SCARED, OR THEY DON’T RECOGNIZE IT WHEN IT SPITS ON THEIR SHOES.

A bit long to quote on a daily basis, but inspirational words from the Babe nonetheless. Benny needs a little motivation to pickle the beast, so why not have the Great Bambino help him out a little.

 

3. YOU PLAY BALL LIKE A GIRL

I could listen to Ham hurl insults all day. There is nothing worse, though, than being on the receiving end of this one. When the Sandlot kids go back and forth with the little leaguers, I didn’t know how they could top each other. But this? Ouch. I want Ham on my team.

 

2. HEROES GET REMEMBERED, BUT LEGENDS NEVER DIE

More wise words from the Babe. A legend himself. It took me some time to think about who is considered a hero and who is a legend. I actually love this scene, when Babe Ruth appears. If he gives you a pep talk, you listen.

 

1. YOU’RE KILLING ME SMALLS

I mean, let’s be honest, when haven’t you just been so frustrated and annoyed with someone that you can’t help but let out a “you’re KILLING me, Smalls!” to them? Happens all the time. Forreal.

 

This will be my favorite movie. FOR-EV-ER.

 

Be Honest!

