Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Tips for Losing Weight and Eating Healthy

2 Comments

At first, this may seem like it will be another one of those blog posts about how easy it is to lose weight, or how quickly the pounds just fall off.  Well, it is not.  I am going to be completely honest with everyone.  Losing weight sucks, in the beginning at least.  It is really, and I mean really, difficult.  Chances are you are going to fail, get stuck, or want to give up so many more times than you succeed.

I am sure some of you readers are thinking, well why the hell would you even try anyway?  What is the point?  Well, to answer some of those questions, losing weight and getting fit is healthier for your overall being.  I feel so much better now than I ever have before.  Also, when you do succeed, when you lose however many pounds in a week, month, year, etc., the joy you experience toward reaching your new healthy lifestyle, is insurmountable.  I mean I cannot even begin to express the overwhelming feeling of joy that courses through your body and your mind.  Seriously…it is amazing.  It is worth every struggle.

Let me just start by saying, I was like everyone.  I would have never thought I would be able to do it.  This picture helps say a lot.  I was pretty much on the “I can’t do it” step.

jF0LT2x

Today I am happy to say, I climbed all those steps and I am now the happy little person dancing on the top.  That can be you!  I am not saying that I am going to stop eating healthy or stop going to the gym.  I still have a lot of work to do.  Summer is just about here and I want to be toned!  I am going to share some helpful tips I have learned and that I wish someone would have shared with me while I was starting out.

  • Set an achievable goal
    • It may seem like you are doing a good thing by setting a goal that is an absolute end result or whatever is supposed to be your “ideal weight.” Trust me when I say this…you aren’t doing yourself any favors.  You will probably just wind up getting disappointed because you aren’t achieving that goal quick enough or not at all. The whole “ideal weight” thing is a bunch of crap.  Everyone is different.  Just because you are 5’2” doesn’t mean you HAVE to weigh 110lbs.  Maybe you have more muscle or a bigger butt.  Whatever the case, everyone is different.
    • Is everyone listening here?  Set a lower goal.  Nothing bad can possibly come of this.  You are more likely to achieve your goal, feel great, and maybe eventually you can set a new goal for yourself!
  • Be Comfortable Being Uncomfortable
    • I know this sounds terrible.  It kind of is at first, but it will get better.  You are going to be hungry a lot.  You are going to feel slightly miserable.  But you can always eat fruits and veggies, or make yourself a nice smoothie.  Try to incorporate a lot of fiber, even if that means getting Metamucil.  It keeps you full longer. Do it.  I didn’t and I regret it.
  • Life Style Change
    • Do all those “diets” claiming you can eat whatever you want and still lose weight seem appealing to you?  Of course they do, but guess what…it is a bunch of bullshit.   You cannot possibly eat tons of unhealthy foods like chocolate cake, fried, greasy, artery clogging foods, or 2 liter bottles of sugary soda and expect results.  It just isn’t going to happen.  Try to eat healthier options.  I promise that it is better for every part of your body.  Put more veggies on your plate than meat or starches.  Not only will it help curb your hunger, it will also help you achieve your goal, make you feel better, and less sluggish.
    • Try going to the gym or being a little bit more active during the day.  This will help you attain your goals much faster than changing your eating habits alone.  Plus, have you read fellow bro Big Al’s blog about the gym?!  I want to go right now to see all the characters I can pick out while I am kicking butt on a cardio machine.
  • Portion Control
    • This one is extremely important.  Portions are a huge part in seeing results.  I am not just talking about the extra snacks.  Even breakfast, lunch, and dinner needs portion control.  It is important to know how much of certain things you are actually eating. If you are unsure, measure!  It is better to measure things out at first, and then you learn that you can eyeball certain things eventually.  That is a pretty good feeling knowing you learned something new that day.

English-Portion-Control-Plate-Webstore-size

  • Everything in Moderation
    • This goes hand in hand with portion control.  You can have a piece of cake or a snack.  Just make sure it is a reasonable size and not a wedge.
  • Reward Yourself
    • All this talk about eating healthy and cutting portions probably has you stressed.  I know that I was making myself insane for a while.  I deprived myself of “bad” foods and hated every second of it.  I watched my brother dip Oreos into ice-cold milk and wanted to cry because I thought I couldn’t have them.  False!  If you achieve all your goals one week, such as going to the gym however many times (I mean have you read Big Al’s blog…doesn’t it seem fun?!), or eating so great and not cheating at all during the week, REWARD TIME!  Yes.  I said it.  Sometimes you just need a little something.  Sure, a couple of days ago I had Cold Stone.  I had a nice portion during dinnertime and I wound up being too full to actually eat real dinner.  I didn’t even care.  It was so worth it and so delicious. YUMM

photo 1

  • Do NOT give up
    • As much as you may want to, do not do it!  I can’t even tell you the amount of times I wanted to throw in the towel.  But, I stuck with it.  Think of rewards you can give or buy yourself when attaining a goal.  If you lose that extra 2lbs, buy a nice new top or treat yourself with a movie, or a well-deserved treat.  Do something to make you feel accomplished at that particular time.  Once you realize that all that hard work paid off, you will be dancing like the little guy on the top step shouting, “Yes! I did it!”  I know I did.
Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Tips for Losing Weight and Eating Healthy

  1. Amen on the “It’s ok to have a snack/eat a piece of cake in moderation.” I know people who won’t ever eat dessert and I feel bad for them.

    • So do I. I just think it is super unrealistic. Everyone wants chocolate every once in a while. If they say they don’t they are probably lying. Lmao

Be Honest!

