Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Trying New Foods

4 Comments

Recently, I am attempting not to be afraid to try new things, especially when it comes to different foods.  For a long time, I was perfectly content saying I didn’t like something.  It did not matter if I had tried the food or not.  It also did not matter if I had tried so long ago I could not even have remembered the taste.  If I didn’t like the way it looked or smelled, then that was all I needed in deciding I hated it.  Seems logical right?  Yeah, maybe not.

Nowadays, Kurt is a pretty big influence as to why I try new foods.  I see him eating so many things and I find myself either wondering what it might taste like, or automatically assuming it is disgusting.   How did he start to get me to try new food some may ask?  Well, I will give readers the nicer version, he does this thing where he looks as me and says (Now picture this like you are talking to a younger child) “Wanna try this?  Are ya sure?  It’s pretty good” If I say no, his response is usually something like “OkaAAAaaay” Then I immediately become curious and wind up trying the damn thing anyway.  After discovering I like whatever it is, his face is masked with the expression “I told you so” or “I am always right” followed by “Seeeeee!  Want a little more of my food?”

I am gonna share with all of you some of the new foods I have tried in the past couple of months and how I feel about them.

Burrito

Qdoba_burrito

I know.  How have I gone 23 years of my life without trying a burrito?  I really have no idea how it happened.  I just assumed they were super spicy, and because I don’t particularly care for spicy, that just meant burritos were a no go.  You know what they say about assuming.  Yes I really do like them.  It is obviously not something that I am going to have often, but sometimes…you just want a burrito!

 

Cholula

D7689375

Oh spicy things…We do not agree, do we?  Didn’t think so.  Usually when I eat spicy food, I get really bad stomach pains and just hate my life.  So naturally I avoid pretty much all of it, yes including buffalo chicken.  (A lot of people think I am weird for not enjoying “buff chick” but oh well!)  Cholula, I found out, is much different.  It is not trying to be spicy just for the sake of being spicy hot.  It is actually flavorful and the “heat” is pretty subdued.  For me to say that definitely means it is tolerable, even for the blandest eaters.

 

Mussels

149478879

I cannot even begin to describe how much I thought I hated mussels.  I thought they would be chewy and slimy.  I just wanted none of that anywhere near my taste buds or taste bros if you will.  However, after Kurt ordered them one night while we were having dinner in an Italian restaurant, I decided to be daring.  They came out in a really delicious and flavorful marinara and smelled wonderful.  I grabbed just one, brought my fork to my mouth, and bravely started chewing the interesting little piece of shellfish.  To my surprise, it was not chewy or slimy at all.  In fact it was tender, kind of like the consistency of a tiny piece of steak, and so delicious, I went back for seconds…and thirds.

 

Clam Chowder

clamchowder

It is safe to say I assumed that most shellfish would be slimy.  I could not have been further from the truth.  As previously stated about mussels, I would not eat clams, unless they were chopped up in itty-bitty pieces and stuffed with tons of breadcrumbs of course.  Uhm Yumm.  Now don’t get me wrong, I have had linguini and clams and thought it was way too fishy to actually enjoy.   I just had one too many bad experiences.

Well, just you wait…clams will redeem themselves!  I was at my grandfather’s 80th birthday party and we all went out to his favorite restaurant.  My grandfather ordered a cup of New England Clam Chowder, and within 2 minutes nearly everyone, with the exception of 4 people, including myself, were calling the waitress back to order a cup for themselves.  Kurt ordered his cup of Clam Chowder and when it arrived, it smelled wonderful.  There was not a single hint of fish detected by my senses.  I was looking at it and he asked if I would like to try.  I thought to myself “Eh, what the hell?  Why Not” At first, I avoided the clams in the chowder like the plague.  Kurt realized this and told me to get a spoonful with the clams.  Guess what?  It was so delicious!  We pretty much wound up splitting it because I enjoyed it so much.

Veggie Sausage

morning_star_sausage_patties

This is exactly what happened when I tried veggie sausage.

As I am chewing: “Oh wow that is surprisingly good!”

Swallowing the bite and thinking of taking another when suddenly: “Oh god, what in the hell is that strange taste?  How do I make it stop…please make it stop”

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

4 thoughts on “Trying New Foods

  1. These are like all my favorite foods!

    I don’t know if that picture is the exact veggie sausage that you tried but I know one that is really good. My dad even says it tastes like meat sausage.

  2. I am being so adventurous! I am not sure which veggie sausage brand I tried. I just know that it was really good at first. Then afterward…not so much.

  3. I’m really shocked about this burrito thing, Amanda. Wow. Pre-gluten free, it was one of my main food groups. But now you know!

  4. Pingback: Lori Interviews Amanda | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

