Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Dreaming of Travel

2 Comments

I must admit, every time I hear somebody say they are going on vacation, part of me gets pretty jealous.  I feel like I see so many pictures of people going to all parts of Europe, tropical islands, and various other places all over Facebook pretty much every week.  Of course everyone wants to go on a nice vacation, don’t get me wrong here.  I just haven’t had the privilege to actually go on a grand vacation.  The farthest I have ever gone was to Florida.  No, I did not go to Disney as a child; I actually went to Universal with my fellow bros during spring break my senior year.  That was also my very first time on a plane!  Can you believe that, 21 years old and my first plane ride?  I was like a little kid.  I couldn’t wait to experience it.

I have been dreaming of traveling somewhere tropical pretty much all summer.  I even got a passport to try to make my travel plans come to life.  Whether that will actually happen or not, I have no idea.  I am broke people!  Instead of talking about a traveling experience, I am going to talk about places I would love to visit.  I will narrow it down to a top 5.

HawaiiSunset

Hawaii

Tropical location.  Picturesque sunsets.  Clean beaches and water you can see through.  Nice warm weather all the time.  Sign me up.

Stockholm, Sweden

 

4.0.1

Have you searched pictures of Sweden?  Well I have, at least for Stockholm anyway.  I have always had a desire to go to Stockholm and never really understood why.  I still don’t.  It just looks wonderful and so very relaxing.  There are always pictures of buildings near water with quaint boats floating along.  Take me there please.

Ireland

pastoral-landscape_6792_600x450

I can’t really explain why, but something about a country looking as though it is covered in a green, rolling hilled landscape makes me want to get away.  Relaxation at it’s finest.  Oh and Guinness.  Lots of Guinness!

 Paris, France

Paris-Skyline

Oh the city of love.  I have heard so many people talk about how wonderful Paris is at night.  It looks beautiful.  I think Paris is just one of those places that most girls dream of visiting.  Tiny French bistros, warm, fresh croissants, the Eifel Tower, the Arch de Triomphe, and let us not forget The Louvre.  Don’t worry.  I will spare everyone another art-ridden tirade.   But seriously?  Nearly 15 acres of a permanent art collection?!  Who am I kidding?  If I went to Paris, I would probably go to The Louvre every single day.

 Italy

italy-rome

This pretty much goes without saying.  I wish I could name a specific place in Italy.  I just want to go to as many Italian cities as humanly possible.  In college, I majored in Art History with a special concentration in Italian Renaissance and Baroque art.  I absolutely love everything about it.  I want to go see “The David” standing tall and guarding his city in his glory.  I want to see the Sistine Chapel, the Colosseum, and the Pieta.  I want to see the architectural brilliance of all the renaissance and baroque masters.  I want to be awe-struck by Bernini’s master ability to sculpt.  I want to be submerged in a culture during the 1400s and on that is still seemingly preserved beautifully in this amazing country.  I want to see it all.  I don’t really care if it is greedy.  I know that it will be extremely difficult to do so.  Even if I just make it to Rome, I will be able to see sculptures and architecture that were built by people that I admire.   Being that close to something that was created by artistic masters that have become household names might actually make me cry.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Travel

  1. Lori and I decided after Hurricane Sandy that we’re moving to Hawaii. At least temporarily. You can come too.

  2. Yes 🙂

Be Honest!

