Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Busy

4 Comments

This post will be short.  I am exhausted.  In the spirit of talking about jobs, I figured I might as well explain what is happening with my life.  Last Monday, somebody contacted me to fill in as an art teacher for a summer camp.  The pay was pretty decent and it would be Mon-Fri 9am-3pm.  How could you go wrong?  At the time, I was working 2 part-time jobs.  The first was obviously the theater thing and the second was teaching arts and crafts at a childhood predevelopment type setting.

The early childhood program really wasn’t working out for me.  I had to take public transit because I don’t have a car of my own.  Don’t get me wrong it really isn’t a hard commute to Westfield.  If I don’t get a ride to Newark Penn, it takes probably about an 1hr & 45mins.  No biggie.  However, when I am commuting almost 2 hours to get to a job only to teach ONE class for 45 mins, it is nowhere near worth my time.  In fact, I was paying money out of my own pocket to work there.  Ain’t nobody got time for dat!

Needless to say, I had to figure out a way to do this camp.  I decided it was best for me to quit the childhood program.  While it would have looked great on my resume, I really could not afford to work there.  After I got that one job taken care of, I needed to figure out something with the theater.  The camp program is only 5 weeks long.  I couldn’t quit both jobs and then be left unemployed after 5 weeks.  Luckily, I was able to file a Leave of Absence at the theater.  This way I can go back after the camp program is over…yippie.

Why did I decide to do the camp?  Well, at this point it goes without saying that I need a real job.  Or let me say, I need a job that I can put on my resume that is related to the field I studied.  I am sick of getting contacted by sales companies!  I do not want to work for you people! Anyway back to the camp job, yes it is grueling to be out in the heat pretty much all day.  Yes, you read correctly, almost every single day we are either outside at the park or at the town’s community pool.  (Yuck)

But, I decided to look at it this way.  The pay is way better than the job I have/had, some days I am teaching art class for almost 2 hours, and I am hoping this will eventually lead to a substitute teaching position come September.  Here’s hoping that after 2 years of waiting, maybe I got my foot just far enough in the door.  Fingers Crossed 

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

4 thoughts on “Busy

  1. Wooohooo! That’s great news, I’m so happy for you! It sounds like you made a smart decision. Keep us posted on how things go!

  2. Schools need a lot of subs this year, due to health care ish. So you will get it and you should apply for as many as you can! You got this!

Be Honest!

