Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

My Current Summer Playlist

2 Comments

Let’s be real. I listen to the same several songs for a few weeks, then download a bunch of new ones, listen to them for a few weeks, and repeat. And these days, of course, I’m listening to everything that feels “summer-y” to me. So here’s what I’m listening to.

1. Wake Me Up – Avicii featuring Aloe Blacc

Summer anthem by the genius mind of Tim Berg aka Avicii. A lot of people hated this when he premiered it at Ultra Music Festival in March, but it just makes me so happy. Luh you Timmy!

 

2. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke featuring Pharrell and T.I.

I hate these blurred liiiines! This is the catchiest song, and I love it. I don’t read into the lyrics like all those crazy people have been lately. When I hear this, I turn up the music so loud. So groovy. Oh and it has T.I. in it. You can’t go wrong with T.I.

 

3. Runnin’ Outta Moonlight – Randy Houser

I love me some country music! This song makes me want to drive around with the music up and the windows down. And I also want to sit around a bonfire with friends and beer. I dunno. I can’t explain it. Summer-country things.

 

4. Cruise – Florida Georgia Line

Hooray for country music! Country music is summer. This is also a music up windows down song. For some reason, I want to drive along the beach with this song on. Maybe it’s a Florida Georgia Line thing for me, because “Round Here” and “Get Your Shine On” also feel beachy to me. Oh, and none of that Nelly remix. I won’t have that.

 

5. Wagon Wheel – Darius Rucker

Can people stop calling Darius Hootie? Because he is not Hootie, and never was Hootie. Kthanks. I heard this song a million times coming home from the beach already this year, so again, a beach song. So fun to sing along to as well.

 

6. Calling – Sebastian Ingrosso and Alesso featuring Ryan Tedder

This song was a summer anthem last year, but I don’t even care. I’ll scream it at the top of my lungs it just makes me so happy. Do you see my theme here? I clearly only listen to EDM and country…

 

7. Feel Again – OneRepublic

Keeping with the Ryan Tedder theme….a fun little jamout song. Also, the music video is awesome and has lots of pretty lights and things.

 

8. Anything Could Happen – Ellie Goulding

This song was used in the official Color Run video at the end of last year, and the Color Run makes me think of last summer, therefore, this song makes me think of summer.

 

9. Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepsen

Sorry I’m not sorry.

 

10. In the Air – Axwell & TV Rock featuring Rudy

I wish I had a convertible to drive down Ocean Avenue with this song. Wheeeee.

 

11. Summertime – Kenny Chesney

This song just says it all.

 

12. Barefoot Blue Jean Night – Jake Owen

I want to live in Jake Owen’s world. I want to be out on a lake and have a barefoot blue jean night every night.

 

Say what you want about my music selection, but hey, it’s summer. Summer makes me happy, these songs make me happy, and I need happy feelings.  Listening to these right now actually…

2 thoughts on “My Current Summer Playlist

  1. I miss your music selections! I’m going to listen to all of these now, except probably, Call Me Maybe.

  2. Too fun, thanks! I’m one of those that reads into the Blurred Lines lyrics, and I wanna smack Robin Thicke upside the head over that one…but I cannot deny that it demands movement!

Be Honest!

