Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Product Reviews

5 Comments

Hello fellow readers. I am here to offer you some perspective on certain products that I have purchased recently.  Trust me, I have your best interests in mind.  That being said…if I say it sucks, I really do mean it.  I am not just saying products are horrible for no reason here.  Without further ado, here it goes.

 

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Pro (Stiletto Red)Rimmel-Lasting-Finish-Pro-Nail-Polish

I had bought this nail polish hoping it was finally an answer to chipped nails in 2 days.  Who am I kidding? I chip my nails in less time than that.  How? I have no idea.  Anyway, I had read the reviews and judging from the high satisfaction rating, I figured I finally had an answer. Everybody was raving about this product.  It had nearly the highest rating on their site, and many reviews claimed the polish lasted the advertised 10 days.  I thought awesome! I won’t have to paint my nails for almost 2 weeks!

I could not have been more wrong.  I must say I do like the brush, as it is much different from traditional nail polish brushes, and the color is great.  However, 10 days is a damn lie!  More like 24 hours. I painted my nails and literally the next day almost  ALL of my nails had chipped!

I decided to redo them.  Maybe, I thought, I should actually do my nails for real.  You know shape them, buff them, paint them, and then add a top coat to see if that was effective. NOPE! Again they chipped the next day!  Needless to say this was a total waste of $4.50.

If some of you are wondering if it is just bad luck for me because of my track record with chipped nails, just ask my mom.  She painted her nails one night, not realizing which polish she grabbed.  We were driving home from the train station one night and she was complaining that she painted her nails not even 2 days ago and they were all chipping.  I didn’t even have to ask which one she used, but yeah, it was the Rimmel polish.

 

Hawaiian Topic’s After Sun LotionAfter Sun

Now that it is pretty much full on summer, I am forever worried about getting burned.  I have pretty sensitive skin when it comes to fun in the sun.  Usually I am the girl reapplying the sunscreen at the beach, or anytime I am outside, to avoid the uncomfortable sensation of bad sunburn.  However, even though I am pretty good at remembering to apply the sunscreen, I almost always miss at least one spot.  The result is always the same.  Sunburn.  It is an uncomfortable sensation that hurts when you shower, put clothes on, or sometimes even when you look at it.  Look away! Look away!

Of course many of us turn to that wonderful Aloe gel, usually stored in the refrigerator.  I can just feel the cold sensation by thinking about it.  While the Aloe provides immediate relief, I find that it does not last very long at all, probably about 5-10 mins, you have to keep applying it, and it leaves your skin tight and sticky like you covered yourself in super hold hair gel.

There is, at last, a product that finally offers long relief.  Enter the wonderful After Sun Lotion by Hawaiian Tropic.  This lotion provides so many benefits for your skin.  I cannot love this product any more than I do. Here are the reasons why.

  • You can get a giant bottle with a fancy lock pump top so you can bring it with you anywhere!
  • No sticky, tight skin
  • It is enriched with good vitamins and cocoa butter
  • If you apply it as soon as you can after sunburn and continue to apply, it will prevent that nasty looking peeling.
  • It provides a longer lasting sense of relief for your sun burned and irritated skin.
  • It will help you maintain that tan!

Need I say anything else…other than eureka!

 

Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renewal 3 Way Cleanser Garnier-Nutritioniste-Skin-Renew-The-Brusher-Gel-Cleanser-and-Garnier-Nutritioniste-Skin-X1

I really do enjoy this product for a number of reasons.  It is decently priced.  I think I paid $7.00 for the bottle and you get a lot of product.  You only need to use a very small amount.  Trust me, it goes a long way.  You also get a 3 in 1 cleaner.  It can be used as a regular face wash, an exfoliator, and a 3-minute purifying mask.   Pretty awesome huh?

I have used it all 3 ways and to me it works best as the mask.  I will tell you why.  The product is very thick.  That being said, even if you decided to use it as just the face wash or just an exfoliator, it goes on your skin in a layer and tightens up regardless.  However, the mask does smell nice and refreshing and it has a cooling sensation that feels wonderful after a long day.

 

Aveeno Nourish + Dandruff Control Shampoo and Conditioner20-hair-products-under-20-dollars-01-bess431

I just purchased this product so I only used it probably 3 times.  So far I will tell you I cannot be more pleased with it.  I have been using Aveeno shampoos and conditioners for a few months and I am totally in love.  They all smell great and they leave your hair feeling clean and soft.  Although they can be a little bit hard to find, they are definitely worth the purchase.  I am trying the Dandruff control now that it is summer because my hair and scalp get extremely dry.  I can tell you that so far it has been working wonders.  I noticed that my hair is less rough in texture, and my scalp looks so much better.  I can only see the product working even better with prolonged use.

 

There you have it.  All the products I have recently purchased and used.  Hope this helps when it comes to buying products!

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

5 thoughts on “Product Reviews

  1. This is good timing, I’m almost out of shampoo and have been thinking about trying out one of the Aveeno ones, I already use their body wash and daily moisturizer. Now I’m convinced!

  2. dude, i totally need that after sun stuff before all my skin falls off.

  3. Well, considering my skin is now blistery leather from being in the desert for the past 3 days, I should probably invest in the after sun lotion. Really. Ow.

Be Honest!

