Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Gym Music

2 Comments

In the spirit of running (Allyssa’s post inspired me), I figured I would share with you fellow readers the musicians and bands that inspire me to work my butt off at the gym.  I know a lot of people have gym playlists, and don’t get me wrong; I have one from a very long time ago.  I should really update that thing…or not.  I barely go to the playlist option on my ipod anyway.

I am trying really hard to improve my strength as well as getting tone all over this summer.  My gym routine is pretty much the same as far as the structure of my workout goes.  Cardio first.  Strength training and/or core work (arms, legs, abs) second.  I will do cardio an average of 30 minutes (strength and core vary) and I need something to keep me entertained.  (Inside scoop…I get very bored doing cardio)  Music is not only a way for me to keep my pace more upbeat, but it is also a way to keep me occupied and most importantly relieve any stress I might be feeling prior.

I find myself picking different songs or bands based on my mood usually.  I never really listen to the same set playlist of songs at the gym.  However, I do find myself faithfully selecting a handful of artists.  So, without further ado, here are some of the artists and some songs that I find myself returning to at least once during my workout.  I will keep it to a top five so this doesn’t get out of control.

 

The Black Keys

I listen to A LOT of The Black Keys.  (Thank you Kurt for introducing me to them) Any one of their upbeat songs has this tempo that just makes you want to keep moving.  I often find myself becoming that girl bobbing her head to the beat without even realizing I am doing so.  If you haven’t heard any of their work, definitely check them out.  Everlasting Light is played once nearly every time I turn my ipod on.

 

Creedence Clearwater Revival

Do I need to really explain this one?  Fine.  John Fogerty is amazing.  That is all.  Kurt and I really enjoy Run Through the Jungle.  I am sure you guys will too.

 

Led Zeppelin

I love Zep.  They might be one of my favorite bands of all time.  I love around 90% of their songs.  Something about their songs just makes me want to dance.  This is my favorite song by Zeppelin so regardless of if it gets played at the gym or not, listen to this magic.

 

Florence and the Machine

Maybe it is the voice or maybe the songs themselves?  I really do not know.  All I know is that the Spectrum Remix is my jam when I find myself on the elliptical.

 

Maroon 5

Oh Adam, why, why, why are you engaged?  Not like I had a shot in the dark but still.  I really do enjoy Maroon 5.  (I saw them live.  They were amazeballs) To this day, Misery still makes me want to sing at the top of my lungs.  “I AM IN MISSEERRRYY.  THEIR AINT NO BODY WHO CAN COMFORT ME. OH YEAH!” Okay I am done now.  Promise.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Gym Music

  1. I love Spectrum! The David Guetta/Avicii remix is good if you feel like branching out…EDM gets me through cardio…actually, EDM gets me through life lol

Be Honest!

