Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Battle of Baking Bread

3 Comments

I really would love to think of myself as a baker.  I think I bake pretty delicious goodies.  I love baking cookies and cupcakes in particular.  Who doesn’t love cookies and cupcakes?  (I want some now that I mentioned them)  I noticed that more recently, I have been trying to bring my creativity to the kitchen.  What do I mean?  Well I have been trying to decorate the cupcakes to be more visually pleasing.  I wish I had pictures, but seeing as how I am pretty much the worst I don’t have any.  I have also been trying to bake new things to see if I will succeed or fail.  These new things include breads.

So far, I have only made 2 types of bread, which were Naan (the traditional Indian flatbread) and Ciabatta.   The naan bread proved to be a whole new level of difficulty than originally anticipated.  I made the dough correctly, at least judging by the helpful step-by-step pictures I had followed.   The dough was supposed to end up a sticky like texture.  Believe me…it was a pain in the butt to work with.  Everything went seemingly well.  However, I don’t think the cooking process went that well.  The recipe I followed said to cook the naan in a cast iron skillet.  Well, that is what I did.  Maybe I did not cook it long enough?  But I followed the time they specifically mentioned and the naan bread started to blacken like it was supposed to.  All I know is that the finished product was really doughy and not at all what I expected.  I will put that under partial fail…for now.

The ciabatta went so, so much better.  I found the recipe here.  The rolls came out looking like this

photo-1

 

The first complaint I have with these rolls is how long the preparation work takes.  You have to make part of the ingredient at least 8 hours or the night beforehand.  After incorporating the ingredients, you have to mix it with a dough hook for at least 15 minutes.  Then afterwards you have to let it sit for at least 3 hours so it triples in size, then after you separate the dough into the rough roll shapes you have to let those sit for 40 minutes to finally bake them for 30-40 minutes.  All together you are looking at around 12-13 hours of work.  The second is the flavor.  Yes they tasted just like delicious ciabatta rolls, but I wanted them to have a bit more of a flavor, maybe buttery?  I don’t know.  But what I do know is now I get to experiment!  Here’s to experimental bread baking…if I manage to find that time.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

3 thoughts on “The Battle of Baking Bread

  1. Those look great! I’ve tried some breads before and I usually have the same complaint- the amount of preparation and sitting time. When I start baking something I want to be able to eat it in like an hour max.

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on breakfast for dinner. | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

