Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Thoughts on breakfast for dinner.

3 Comments

As good as these look, I do not want them for dinner.

Well, this post isn’t a recipe but Allyssa and Amanda do have me thinking about food this week.  In the past month, one of the things that I’ve found to be the most frustrating about living outside of my parents home is making dinner every night.  Even though Kunaal and I split the responsibility as evenly as possible, on my night I always find myself staring into the cupboards wondering what I can pull together.

I was having this same conversation with my mom over the weekend as I marveled at the fully stocked refrigerator and tons of ingredients that hadn’t even been used in ages. The problem isn’t really that we don’t have enough food around, we always have food, but I seem to be lacking the creativity or recipe knowledge to keep from making some version of pasta with a sauce and some vegetables every other night.

My mom’s suggestion was to have a “breakfast for dinner night”.  To which I said, “No, I can’t do that.”

When I was a kid, pancakes and scrambled eggs for dinner was such a treat, when it was time for dinner and we started to smell bacon the excitement and anticipation was uncontrollable.  As we got older though, this was slowly phased out of our dinner options.

These days I can’t even imagine having breakfast items for dinner.  I think it’s the sweetness that puts me off.  It’s like having dessert for dinner, and then I feel like a) I’ve just skipped dinner and b) now I can’t have desert.  It’s a lose-lose situation.

In my book, there are two exceptions to this rule, the first is eggs.  While I wouldn’t make scrambled eggs or fried eggs for dinner, I would be ok with an omelet or frittata or other egg based dish.  This way you can avoid the problem of a double sweet dinner.  It also feels more nutritious when you include cheese and vegetables and spices.  Not like you just ate a cake for dinner.

The other exception is obviously Waffle Monday’s in the Commons, because having to go to night class messes up your circadian rhythm as it is, so why not just pretend that it’s morning?

So I guess in the meantime it’s back to the drawing board (or pinterest) for quick and simple dinner recipes.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on breakfast for dinner.

  1. Does midnight breakfast count as breakfast for dinner? I could eat those potatoes and chocolate croissants all day…

    • haha, that’s a good point. I think because it’s a meal in itself and isn’t a replacement for another meal, it’s okay.

  2. Pingback: Experiments in Smoothie Making | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

