Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

What To Read?

1 Comment

Ah book week.  This theme is definitely something that I am excited for and dreading at the same time.  Not because I hate books, quite the opposite actually.  It is because I struggled for a while on a topic.  I think I made my love of the series A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) pretty clear in many of my posts.  I mean I could go on and on about them, but I promise to spare your souls and the spoilers for those of you who have yet had the pleasure, and time, to enjoy them.  But read them…you’ll either thank me or hate me later.  Maybe you’re welcome is the appropriate response?  Please don’t hate me…

Anyway moving right along, I am going to share the books that I am trying to fill the empty GoT void with (the 6th one needs to come out…NOW).  I wish that I had more to add to the list.  For whatever reason, the books I have chosen to read are well over 800 pages.  Why…just why?

 

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

I picked this book because I needed a quick and easy read after all the devastation that occurred in GoT.  I believe it was also listed as one of those books to read before you die.  I thought eh, why not.  I do love Oscar Wilde.  (The Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my favorites of all time)  It turned out this was just what I needed.  This short play did not disappoint.  For as old as the play is, it is extremely easy to read, to comprehend, and the dialogue is wonderfully witty.  I also found, that on more than one occasion, I caught myself smiling at some of the ridiculous situations that both “Earnests” managed to get into.

If you have some spare time, pick “Earnest”.  It is quite enjoyable.

 

The Passage by Justin Cronin

So far, I only finished this one actual book.  Like I mentioned, the book is pretty lengthy and definitely not for those who scare easily.  A friend recommended The Passage.  Seeing as I was desperate for a book to read, I gave it a shot.  The book is about both an apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic world overrun by vampire like beings who are infected by an extremely contagious virus.   The book starts slow and the beginning took me a while to get through.  Once it picks up, good luck putting it down.  Events happen so quickly it will literally make your head spin.

This is a 3 part series.  I have yet to read the second book, called The Twelve, but I definitely plan to after I finish the book I am currently reading.  I also believe they are making the books into movies quite soon.  That being said, if you love vampires, the apocalypse, and books turned movies, I would start reading now.

 

The Name of The Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

I am still reading this one and enjoying pretty much every minute of it.  I found this book on quite a few lists.  One of them was of course “Fantasy Series You Would Enjoy If You Like GoT and/or Harry Potter” and the other was “50 Books to Read Before You Die.”  The book is told in the main character, Kvothe’s, perspective.  Once Kvothe, a wickedly gifted and incredibly intelligent man, starts narrating his story, it starts as an intimate tale of his childhood traveling with his family who are essentially street performers.  The story quickly takes a turn for the worse, leaving Kvothe a feral orphan wandering a dangerous town and trying to survive on a day-to-day basis all the while dreaming of attending a legendary and magical university.

I am about 60% of the way through and I love it.  It has all the best things like magic and tons of mystery!  How can you say no to that?  I CANNOT wait to finish to see how this ends…maybe The Twelve will just have to wait longer than expected.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

One thought on “What To Read?

  1. Importance of Being Earnest is one of my favorite plays. Drew is doing it next year, too!

Be Honest!

