Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Book time!

Leave a comment

Image

When we decided on books for a theme week I thought this would be super easy because we all like to read so much.  It seems though that so far Allyssa, Amanda and I have had the same dilemma.  We like ALL of the books.  Maybe we should have narrowed this down more?  I’m going to take a slightly different approach and just tell you about the last book that I’ve read.

A few weeks ago, during the heat wave, I was lured into Barnes and Nobel by the promise of air conditioning and a place to browse books and maybe even sit and read for a while.  As always, they tricked me with their sales and I couldn’t pass up the “Buy 2, Get the 3rd FREE” promotion.  So, obviously, I picked up 3, all quick summer reads that I hoped would last me through September at least.  Wrong, these books were too good, and I sped right through all of them.  Damn unemployment.

The one that I finished last was Sharp Objects, by Gillian Flynn.  Recently her novel Gone Girl has been getting a lot of attention because it’s being made into a movie with Ben Affleck.  I had Gone Girl on my list of books to read so when I saw Sharp Objects as part of this book sale, I figured it was a good place to start.  Sharp Objects is Flynn’s highly praised debut novel.

Without giving too much away, I really enjoyed this book.  It falls under the category of psychological thriller which is not the sort of book that I’ve read in a while, but it was exactly what I needed to get me through a few long train rides to Vermont and back.

Basically the story is about a 30 something reporter, Camille Preaker, from Chicago.  Almost immediately following her release from a psychiatric hospital dealing with her own demons, Camille is sent on assignment to her small hometown in Missouri to cover the murders of two young girls.  Upon arriving she is forced to co-exist once again with her neurotic mother, clueless step-father, and a spoiled half sister who has the whole town wrapped around her finger.  As Camille tries to get to the bottom of the mystery she revisits old friends, cozies up to the law enforcement, and begins to relive the traumatic events from her childhood that caused her so much pain the first time.  Camille connects so strongly to the chain of events as they are unfolding that she refuses to let the story go, despite the pain it causes her, and ends up unraveling the secrets of her traumatic childhood right along with the recent murders.

I could not put this book down, the biggest mistake that I made was reading right before bed time.  It isn’t a scary book, but it kept me thinking long after I had closed the pages and shut off the light.  It kept me guessing the whole time, and as much as I didn’t want the book to end, I couldn’t wait to find out if I was right.

If you’re looking for a quick read that will keep your interest for hours at a time, I highly suggest Sharp Objects.  If anyone has read Gone Girl, I would love to know your thoughts, or else I may try to find that one as well.

Be Honest!

