Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

What I Haven’t Read

Leave a comment

When I was younger, I used to read all the time. Obviously this was before technology had taken over everyone’s lives and before things like Facebook existed to keep me preoccupied most of the time. I hate to admit it, but I have found that I don’t read nearly that much anymore. I do come across books that I’ll get into and finish, but I’m not constantly going book after book after book. I’m not super adventurous in just picking up any random book…I’ll normally look at what the bestsellers are or I’ll need some kind of reference from someone who has read something good (no worries, I have read Harry Potter…too many times to count). Looking back, even in high school, I didn’t have to read too many of the classics. So here, instead of listing things that I have read, I’m going to name some of the classics I want to read, hopefully in the near future. I feel like I’ve missed out on all this literature. Don’t go into a state of shock when I mention what I haven’t read…my own fault really…

1. Pride and Prejudice
I’m actually surprised I never had to read this at any point during my education. I hear references to it all the time, but I never get them. And thankfully, I never saw the movie. This is probably one that should just stick to book form (they all should, shouldn’t they?)
2. The Scarlet Letter
Again, something else I’ve heard referenced and never gotten. I actually have no idea what this book is about. A note that’s red? Surprises surprises.
3. The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Silmarillion, and The Hobbit 
Not quite a “classic”, but up there as one of those that everyone in the world has read. And okay, so this was made into a movie, but I think in this case it might actually help. I did attempt to read this when I was younger but gave up because I didn’t have the attention span for it and got really confused. May as well give it another go.
4. A Tale of Two Cities
You know, the only barely-there reference I can make to this book is it was the subject of an episode of “Wishbone.” What a great show. I should know more classics because of that show. Oh well. Good enough reason to want to read it I guess.
5. The Picture of Dorian Gray
Funny, I vaguely remember a “Wishbone” episode of this too…I may or may not have been freaked out a little bit by it at the time. I feel like I may be somewhat freaked out by it still, but oh well. It’s only a book.
Be Honest!

