Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Growing Up?

7 Comments

Saturday was the day.  Saturday was finally the wedding of our fellow Drew friends, Steve and Kirstie.  It was a day that all the bros, myself included, highly anticipated since the moment we all got save the dates.  Honestly, I cannot even believe it is already over.  The bride looked absolutely stunning and a body fitting lace dress with embellished belt.  I cannot even begin to describe how much I loved her dress.  The reception was wonderful.  The food was great, and the drinks were obviously even better. (Oh yeah, open bar!)  It was an incredible amount of fun.  All the bros and other long missed Drew friends together at one time…in one place!  This is a rarity.  I cannot even remember the last time I enjoyed myself that much at an event, or loved the surrounding company as much as I did on Saturday.  As fun as the wedding was, I could not help but think of two specific things.

1091095_10200357322552402_1934754552_o

Aren’t we all so pretty

 

1.  Can’t we just go back to living on the same floor?

While we were sharing and celebrating in the festivities, I realized how much I missed my friends.  After the reception, we all went back to the hotel.  Most of us managed to be on the same floor, or just one floor away.  After we all had changed from our pretty outfits, and took off our makeup, we all walked next door and had a bro sesh.  No seriously, there is a lack of words when it comes to describing how much I miss being so close to one and another.  Being in the hotel reminded me a lot of Holloway 2nd.  Mostly everyone lived on the same floor and you can just walk two doors down to see your friends, have good times, snack on better food than the awful commons food (if you can even call that crap edible), and laugh so hard it is physically painful.

More frequently I realize that it is difficult to actually hang out with all 4 fellow bros together at once.  Sure we talk pretty much every day, mostly about nonsensical things we find on the Internet.  But it is just not the same.  We are getting older, probably more and more broke (I know I am), and looking for or working real jobs.  Most of us are definitely busy during the week, most weekends, and are in bed by 11pm.   Schedules like these make it difficult to figure out a weekend that by chance we might be able to get something together.

 

IMG_2691

Best bros

2.  Are we really old enough to get married?  Are you positively sure?  When did this happen?

I don’t know about any of you, but the more I go on Facebook, the more I see pictures of people I went to school with either getting married and/or having babies.  What on earth goes on? Aren’t we all still, I don’t know, 20 years old?

While I look on Facebook at wedding photos, sure it seems weird.  But, it doesn’t really matter to me much.  Sure I went to school with most of them, but I would say 8 times out of 10, I don’t really keep in contact with them, or they were just an acquaintance.  This wedding was different.  It was the first couple of our “Drew Friends” to take the plunge.  Don’t get me wrong, they were pretty much married already.  7 years is a long time.  But now, it is real!  We went to the church where we watched them exchange their beautiful wedding bands.  We went to the reception where they shared their first dance as husband and wife.  Husband.  And.  Wife.

I still think I am young.  Sometimes it feels as if all of us just graduated college.  We should be thinking about jobs and moving out of our parent’s houses, actually doing so is a different matter entirely.  But marriage?

Given the time to actually consider things, I realize that we did in fact graduate TWO years ago, we do STILL think about obtaining real jobs (Yeah some of us still need them! Don’t judge. Fuck this economy!) We so desperately want places of our own, but are too broke to afford them.  More importantly I realize, we are 24 or 25 years old.

Let us take a moment and put our age in a different perspective.  Think of all the stories your parents used to tell you of the times they had gotten married.  By our age, most of them were married for at least what?  3, maybe 4 years and were either pregnant or had their first child already.  Crazy huh?

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

7 thoughts on “Growing Up?

  1. You literally took the words right out of my mouth. I’ve been thinking all the exact same things. This is why we are best bros.

  2. This made me want to cry a little. Can we just have a big party every couple of months with everyone until the next Drewid gets married?

  3. I’ve been thinking about this too. I really wish that we all lived together again. Maybe we should all move into the same apartment complex, no matter what/where our jobs are. Totally possible, right? Being with EVERYONE this weekend was almost surreal. It may never happen again.

    Being in the same position as you (that it…the “unemployed-ish” position) I definitely relate to a lot of what you said. I can’t even move out at this age, I can’t imagine getting married. But by our age, all of my relatives were already married. Such different times.

    I miss Drew.

  4. I agree, let’s move into the same apartment building and all request to be on the same floor.

Be Honest!

