Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

My Work Day, in a Series of Haikus

4 Comments

 One.
Too lazy to write.
I thought, “why not try haikus?”
I’m really clever.

Two.
Dear Morning, why, oh,
Why do you come so early?
My brain is still off.

Three.
Rain, rain, go away
Come again another day
Seriously…stop.

Four.
Garden State Parkway,
Why are your lanes so damn small?
Other cars, go home.

Five.
No one is here yet.
I should really be working,
But I’m reading Cracked.

Six.
Stop office small talk.
We all know the weather sucks…
Just read Haiku Three.

Seven.
My stomach is loud.
It growls, “I am so hungry,
Is it lunch time yet?”

 Eight.
I love you, GChat.
I don’t know what I would do
If you were not here.

Nine.
Salad, you taste good.
But I wish you were pizza.
Sorry to offend. 

Ten.
Day is dragging on.
Why isn’t it 4:30 yet?
I want to go home.

Eleven.
Haiku Ten, Line Two:
One too many syllables.
Shh…no one noticed.

Twelve.
Printer, you are loud.
Headphones try to drown you out.
But you won’t shut-up. 

Thirteen.
I write for lawyers.
Why are they all so cranky?
The law is boring.

Fourteen.
It’s time to go home!
Good-bye to my work buddies.
See you tomorrow.

 Fifteen.
 No pictures today?
Well, there’s no fun in that. So…
Here’s some fluffy cats:

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

4 thoughts on “My Work Day, in a Series of Haikus

  1. So, that was brilliant.

  2. I keep trying to pick out a few of my favorites, but I can’t choose, they’re all great. I think number 9 is my favorite.

Be Honest!

