Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Sleep deprived.

Leave a comment

Image

If only Tuck-monster could teach me the skill of falling asleep anytime, anywhere.

It’s only Wednesday and it feels like this week has been going on forever.  Being alone on the weekend has completely thrown off my schedule.  I swear I’m not afraid of the dark, just the bugs, but there is also something about sleeping alone all alone that makes even a decent nights sleep restless.  This still happens to me in the house I grew up in if I’m alone overnight.

Unfortunately, now I’ve gotten into a routine of being awake until the wee hours of the morning and sleeping in late (Oh hello, 2am, I haven’t seen you since college.  Yes, I do believe quiet hours are starting, that means time for sleep.)

It would be infinitely easier to snap out of such a schedule if I had a reason to wake up early in the morning but for the past month or so, that hasn’t been a concern.  For the rest of the week it’s my goal to get back to a proper working day schedule or at least, something slightly less nocturnal.

My plan of attack is as follows:

  • Straighten up immediately after dinner so that I can start to relax sooner.
  • No TV/computer/phone for at least half an hour before bedtime.
  • Try fan or AC for white noise to drown out thoughts keeping me up.
  • Try deep breathing exercises that I learned in that yoga class that one time.
  • Read boring newspaper articles until I literally have to hold my eye lids open.
  • Repeat as necessary.

Wish me luck!  Also, tips for getting to sleep would be welcomed.  This caffeinated cup of tea that I’m drinking at 6pm is probably not a good start.  Or maybe sleep is overrated, we’re still young right?

Be Honest!

