Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

An Epic Love Story

2 Comments

I decided a long time ago that at some point I would use my old journals for something on this blog. This is that week. I started with my very first journal, just flipping through it and picking out some of the best things I could find. And there is some good stuff in there. But one story line in particular emerged most prominently: a love story. And the idea for this blog began to take shape.

Trust me, the saga of my love life from third to sixth grades is not to be missed.

Some serious writing went down in this journal.

Some serious writing went down in this journal.

*I only used people’s first initials instead of their names. You know, because they will all obviously read this and I wouldn’t want to ruin their reputations or anything…*

*Direct quotes from my journals are in orange.*

Like sands through the hourglass…so are the Days of Lori’s Life.

It all started on a regular spring day in 1998. I was just a normal 8 year old girl, making my way through the third grade. Suddenly, I noticed something upsetting. One of my best friends, a girl named E, appeared to be falling for my arch enemy, D.

Today I think E fell in love with D. Ew! He is a dork. (April 8, 1998)

What was I to do? Should I warn E to stay away from him forever? Should I tell D to back off? Luckily, I never had to make such a decision. For on the next day, all was okay:

E didn’t fall in love with D. It just looked like it. Well, anyway, I had hot dogs for lunch. (April 9, 1998)

Whew. That was a close one. But then something even more horrible may have been happening. Was D falling for…me?

I took a Frisbee to school and the boys tried to take it. But D didn’t. He was being really nice to me. That means he likes me. Ew! (May 16, 1998)

As we all know, the best way to tell if a boy likes you is to see whether or not he will steal your Frisbee.

But were my own feelings starting to change?

I had a dream of D and how dorky he is. D is cute, but really, really mean. I hate him because he is mean and I like him because he is cute. I’m glad he is not in my class [next year] so I have time to think it over. (June 23, 1998)

My feelings for D were changing, but at least he wasn’t going to be in my fourth grade class. I needed some time to think about my feelings. And think about them I did. But I also had other things to deal with, like the horrors of picture day.

I hate school pictures! I hate to smile when I don’t mean it. (September 30, 1998)

I hear ya, girlfriend.

When D and I were momentarily reunited for an assembly, sparks flew.

Today I was sitting in Mrs. W’s classroom with D and E. When E sat next to me, I moved back and D followed. I think I like him! (December 10, 1998)

But feelings for an old crush, from all the way back in second grade, were starting to reemerge.

I’ve been thinking about my old crush A. I like D now. I miss A. He was a friend. D and I act like enemies! I don’t know who to like better! (March 7, 1999)

My quandary continued into the next day…

Should I like D or A better? I think I pick D because A is not in my life as much anymore. A used to go to my school, but his mom made him go somewhere else. I don’t see him a lot. I see D every day. I used to say I hate him, but now I don’t. I’m a little boy crazy and I’m only 9!(March 8, 1999)

Such a dilemma. How do I handle choosing between the two great loves of my life? Well, the best course of action was to wait until I was older and more mature. You know, fifth grade. Maybe as a boy crazy ten year old, I’d have more perspective.

I’m ten now. School started. I’m over D! I don’t love him anymore. He is too mean. (September 14, 1999)

So just like that, a mere six months later, I had moved on from D. And then a familiar face reentered my life, if only for one evening.

On Friday I went to Escapades. I saw A, my old crush. I think I fell back in love with him. He is so cute. He still doesn’t go to my school though. Oh well. Crap happens. (November 2, 1999)

Ah, Escapades. As I’m sure is a thing everywhere, Escapades was a “night club” for middle schoolers. But for us fifth graders, we could only go on one Friday night ever couple of months, for the “D.A.R.E. Dances.” Here, all of the fifth graders from all the different schools in town came together to celebrate drug awareness by putting glow sticks around our necks, singing along to “Blue” by Eiffel 65, and having your friend ask the friend of the boy you like to ask him to slow dance for 30 seconds while you barely talk and avoid eye contact. It was super cool and full of elementary school drama. But, you know, crap happens.

But a few days after reuniting with my old love A, something changed within me again.

I fell back in love with D. He is cute and (usually) nice to me. (November 13, 1999)

And, ladies, as we all now, when a cute boy is sometimes nice to us, it’s clearly true love.

All of the drama of my own love life was soon erased when I found out some shocking news about a friend of mine.

I have something to tell you. S French kissed her boyfriend! (December 28, 1999)

S was a whore.

I soon graduated from 5th to 6th grade, not sure what to do about my feelings. Did I love D or did I hate him? Did that one magical night when I saw A from across the dance floor mean more? What should I do!?

I used to have a crush on D, but not anymore. We are good friends now! (November 6, 2000)

Oh. Okay. So. I guess that’s it. Seriously, though. After literally years of trying to work out my feelings for the cute little blond boy that once wrote “I hate you, you ugly girl” in my yearbook because he thought it was funny, I moved on. I don’t think I ever even mentioned either A or D again.

Wasn't joking. He wrote this. I cried. I kind of want to cry again right now.

Wasn’t joking. He wrote this. I cried. I kind of want to cry again right now.

So there you have it. The anticlimactic ending to the most epic love story ever told. It’s right up there with Romeo and Juliet and Twilight. But, don’t be concerned that my love story ends at the beginning of 6th grade. Oh no. Because middle school was just starting, and with it came much more drama. So tune in next time to The Days of Lori’s Life

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

2 thoughts on “An Epic Love Story

  1. “Oh well. Crap happens.” is my new motto. Wise words from a 9 year old.

  2. Pingback: Documenting My Life | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

