Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Yay or Nay: Sending thank you notes to interviewers.

1 Comment

Hello honest friends.  So it’s been a rainy day in Philadelphia, I’ve been trying to come up with something witty and super interesting for you all to read today but honestly, I’ve been distracted and the weather just makes me want to lay around and watch bad TV series marathons on Netflix.  Being in the process of job searching has had me thinking a lot about the interview process, if and when that happens.

It’s also reminded me of a conversation that I’d had with a friend when she was applying for jobs.  The issue of, is it still appropriate to send a thank you note to the interviewer after the meeting?  I’ve always been of the opinion that it’s a nice gesture regardless of the situation and it probably can’t hurt your chances at all.  Particularly if the interview maybe didn’t go perfectly, or you suspect they might be on the edge about hiring you, showing some gratitude for their time and any information that they shared with you may be enough to tip the scales in your direction.  I hope anyway.

My friend’s argument was that, while it is a nice gesture, in the age of e-mails and cell phones, isn’t it a bit antiquated to be sending your appreciation through the mail box?  She says that she would rather call or email the individual (depending on the relationship) within hours thanking them for their time, rather than wait however many days that it could take to arrive otherwise.  She said personally that if she ever interviewed someone who sent her a thank you letter she would wonder why they had bothered and hadn’t just sent an e-mail on the same day.  In this time of instant gratification, is waiting a few days for a letter to post too long?

I suppose that the solution is to read each situation as you encounter it.  Did the interviewer seem like the kind of person who would appreciate a short note of thanks and appreciation?  Or are they a company of young people who may not remember how exciting it is to receive real paper mail and who would prefer, I don’t know, a tweet of gratitude?  Could sending a thank you letter by mail make you appear old fashioned and out dated?

I personally will continue to send my thank you notes until it pays off.  On the whole, we still rely on paper mail for formal occasions like weddings and birth announcements, if getting a job is important enough, I think it’s appropriate to put your appreciation into words on paper.  I figure after someone agrees to take time out of their busy day to meet with me, the least I can do to thank them is take a bit of time to write out a thank you card.  Maybe I’m just old fashioned.

One thought on “Yay or Nay: Sending thank you notes to interviewers.

  1. I’ve done both. I find that sending an email creates more of a dialog between you and the interviewer, but like you said, it really just depends on the situation. If you are interviewing at more young, tech-y places, I would definitely go with email. Otherwise, I think sending a letter is a nice gesture.

    If I was the interviewer, I wouldn’t think sending a real letter would make you seem outdated. It would look like you were considerate and really willing to make the effort for the job. But that’s just my opinion.

Be Honest!

