Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Kurt Hates Advertisements

1 Comment

Amanda:  What is your favorite part of watching TV?

Kurt:  When I get to actually watch shit that I would enjoy seeing such as Breaking bad, Eagles games, Game of Thrones, and Sons of Anarchy

Amanda:  Do you have a least favorite?

Kurt:  All the advertising placed into every single thing you do…it is ruining every type of experience.  They squeeze ads in tiny little audible pauses.  Pretty much any surface that is clean and peaceful by ruining it with a chunk of advertising where people just want your money

Amanda:  Wow you seem passionate about this whole ad thing.  Do you think television would be better without ads completely?

Kurt:  I understand that ads are a somewhat necessary evil. They pay for large portions of the wonderful programs we tune in to watch, especially on plain Jane cable television but I think that we’ve gotten to a point where things are getting way WAY out of hand with the relentless yammering of commercials, most of which are boring, or super gay and family oriented or just enormously failed attempts at humor to the point of where the ad is completely annoying and I will want to go out of my way to make SURE no one buys said product. I tune in for a peaceful or super awesome 15-52 minutes of a show, whether it be Squidbillies or Sons of Anarchy, and all of my input sensors are just overloaded with “SPEND ALL OF YOUR MONEY ON THIS NEW OVERPRICED THING YOU DON’T WANT BUT EVERYONE ELSE WILL HAVE AND YOU’LL BE A LOSER IF YOU DON’T HAVE ONE!” “YOU CAN SAVE MONEY BY SPENDING MORE OF YOUR MONEY ON THIS BUY IT NOW!” YouTube I think is the absolute worst offender of this.

Amanda:  So the ads then have an effect on how much you are able to enjoy TV shows?

Kurt:  Yes, in fact this one time for instance, I was watching what was advertised as a 90-minute episode of Sons of Anarchy during Season 3. I was appalled and heartbroken and angry when I was forced to sit through a 20 minute AVATAR COMMERCIAL (FUCK YOU WITH A PINEAPPLE JAMES CAMERON) followed by ten whole minutes of normal advertising! I vowed at that point that I would NEVER, EVER in my lifetime see Avatar unless it hurt the sales of the film and everyone who worked on it. I torrented it, 3 times and NEVER watched it and then gave it out to some friends on a USB drive. I even SEEDED the copies I torrented. Which is just absurd because no one seeds. To this day I’ve yet to see the movie or give a shit about it.

Amanda:  Okay then, moving right along.  Ready to talk about happy things?

Kurt:  I guess…probably

Amanda:  Ads aside.  What is currently your favorite TV show?

Kurt:  It’s hard to say, because I tend to be so all or nothing about the shows I watch. I really commit and love what I see or I just think it’s completely stupid and wonder how the show survived a pitch to any network. I love Squidbillies, Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy, Hell On Wheels, It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia, Game Of Thrones, and maybe one or two other things I’m forgetting at the moment.

Amanda:  I am so glad you made me get through those first episodes of Breaking Bad.  The show is probably one of the best on TV.

breaking-bad-logo

Amanda:  How do you feel knowing this is the final season?  Any theories of how it will all come to conclusion?

Kurt:  No, I don’t want to theorize on it and ruin the surprise. I like the ride too much. That being said, I don’t feel very negative for it having to go away. I think it’s a great story that was executed beyond perfect, it had a good run, and I think it’s great that it will go out with dignity and not just become a “Call of Duty” of a show.

Amanda:  Time for some random questions

Early

Early

Amanda:  Which squidbilly character is your favorite and why?

Finished

Squid Satan

Kurt:  Squid Satan. He doesn’t make too many appearances but when he does, he makes a lot of hilarious things happen. Or Early Cuyler, he’s classic.  The whole backwoods hick thing reminds me of home mostly. You know that stereotypical map of New Jersey? — If you haven’t…Google it. The part that’s labeled “Pretty Much Alabama” is where I grew up.

 

Amanda:  What was your favorite 90s cartoon?

Kurt:  Rocko’s Modern Life

 

Amanda:  Oh man! Mine is a tie between Ren and Stimpy and Rocko!  Speaking of which Ren or Stimpy?

Kurt:  

stimpy

Stimpy

 

Amanda:  I agree.  Ren yelled a lot, and was uptight…and took his skin off to take a bath…What happened to great cartoons? Where did they go?

Kurt:  Well as far as children’s shows are concerned, I don’t know. What we had as kids was great but I feel a lot of people think they were so special because they grew up in the 90’s and kind of shove it down other people who grew up in other decades’ throats, kind of like what Christians do. — To more directly answer the question they’re still out there! Adult Swim has a lot of great content when they aren’t playing weird Japanese anime that one night of the week.

Amanda:  Which Aaahh!!! Real Monster would you be?

Aaahh--Real-Monsters-Episode-5--Krumm-s-Pimple

Krumm

Kurt:  I liked the red one, but as I find myself getting older I might be more of Krumm.  You know, the smelly, clumsy, and fleshy colored one who had to hold his eyeballs.

Amanda:  What cartoon character are you?

Kurt:  When I was a kid or now?

Amanda:  Both

Kurt:  I think when I was younger I was more of a Michaelangelo (TMNT). Today it’s a bit harder for me to pinpoint, but I’m not nearly as cheerful or awesome as I used to be. So whatever that is

3416389594_91283d54e1

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

One thought on “Kurt Hates Advertisements

  1. Pingback: My obsession with Netflix. | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

