Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Next Step.

Leave a comment

This is supposed to be symbolic.  Does saying that ruin the symbolism?  I'm really just too lazy to search for a picture.

This is supposed to be symbolic. Does saying that ruin the symbolism? I’m really just too lazy to search for a picture.

I know we’ve all written different posts about the confusion and anxiety that we are experiencing about our careers, our relationships, and our families.  Essentially, every aspect of our lives that can be analyzed has been, over and over again.  This has been blogged about, written about, sang about, and has been explored in every medium that can be used as a form of self-expression.  Even though it’s obvious that we aren’t alone in this feeling, sometimes it still scares the crap out of me in the occasional moments that I take a break from the things that I use as a daily distraction (Netflix) and realize that our 20’s are slowly creeping by and every day we are closer to having to move on to the next thing.

It’s mostly frustrating, but the conclusion that I’ve come to is that it’s a necessary sense of dissatisfaction or anxiety that keeps us moving from one thing to something better.  After all, most of the “real” grown-ups that I know didn’t just begin a career straight out of college and stick with it to this day.  Most have either changed companies, or changed roles, or even changed career completely.  I think another part of the anxiety come from the fact that this is the first time in my life I’ve had complete control over what comes next.  So far, I have chosen not to spend more than a year in any one place.  At least, this has kept me on my toes in always looking for the next thing.

So, I’ve been here in Philly for about 2 months now.  I’ve haven’t even begun working here yet, and I’m already feeling anxious and am preparing for what I hope will be next.  I am now the proud owner of “GRE Premier 2014 with 6 Practice Tests”.  I don’t have any concrete plans yet, but recently it’s been in the back of my mind that I would probably have to go back to grad school in order to advance in the social services or mental health field.  So, I bought the book and I’ve  been studying my vocabulary. While it doesn’t completely easy my anxiety about the future, (actually, it makes it worse.) but it makes me feel a bit better for now that I’m working on something.

Be Honest!

