Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

A Failed Quest for Pumpkin

4 Comments

Well, as previously stated, I love pumpkin.  I desperately want to eat and make pumpkin flavored everything.  What a better time to start making pumpkin muffins than now?  It turns out there must be a better time because it was a huge fail.  I will walk through the recipe and why they turned out to be a failure.

The Recipe

1 1/2 cups of flour

1 cup Sugar

1/4 cup Brown Sugar

1 cup oats

1/4 tspn Nutmeg

1/4 tspn Ginger

1/2 tspn Cinnamon

1/3 cup Applesauce

1 cup Pumpkin Puree

1 egg

Steps:

The steps included mixing the dry ingredients in one bowl and then the wet ingredients in another.  Once both ingredients were combined thoroughly, you had to make a well in the dry ingredients.   Then you pour the somewhat disgusting looking orange liquid into the well.  Next combine both dry ingredients and wet, mixing well, until all lumps are gone.  Sounds easy right?  Well that part was but here comes the fail….

The Fail

The muffins baked in a 375 degree oven for abut 30 mins.  However, they did not bake!  They were a sticky and horrible mess.  I decided to bake them a tad longer and they finally appeared to be done.   I let them sit over night to see what type of disappointment I faced in the morning.

In the morning, I took a look at my sad and tiny muffins that did not even rise.   I tried to peel the muffin wrapper off with little to no success.  It literally stuck to the muffin like glue!  There were pieces of muffin paper everywhere, and when I broke the muffin in half, it was mushy!  It almost looked like a thicker form of baby food.  You can only imagine how upsetting this was.  I wanted to have a delicious pumpkin muffin with my coffee in the morning.  Instead, I got mushy trash.  So. Sad.

So readers…here is my question for all of you.  Does anyone have a delicious and successful pumpkin muffin recipe?  I want pumpkin muffins so terribly.

 

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

4 thoughts on “A Failed Quest for Pumpkin

  1. I hate when that happens! I noticed that your recipe doesn’t use any baking powder or soda, that could explain why the muffins didn’t rise, unless you used self-rising flour? Not sure about the not cooking part.

    I don’t have any pumpkin muffin recipes, but my mom has an awesome one for pumpkin cookies. I also made some apple cinnamon muffins that I’m going to share tomorrow that are delicious and fall-y!

  2. You definitely don’t need applesauce AND pumpkin puree. That makes it all dense and baby food-y. I notice that whenever I add pumpkin puree to any of my cake recipes, it gets denser. The pumpkin is enough liquid/oil substitution that you don’t need the applesauce too.

    Also in addition to the baking powder/soda that Kaely mentioned, sometimes when I know a recipe is dense, I add the egg whites and yolks separately. I always whip the egg whites until frothy so the food bakes a little lighter.

    I’ll look around my recipes and see if I have a good one!

  3. http://www.veganpeace.com/recipe_pages/recipes/TheBestPumpkinMuffins.htm#End
    These really are the best ever. Made some this morning with fresh pumpkin purée. Good luck!

Be Honest!

