Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

How to Maximize a Sick Day

9 Comments

I guess it’s my turn to have a week where I just didn’t have the time/energy/motivation/inspiration to write anything particularly clever. This week has just been really busy for me with the soccer season starting, things being crazy at work, the start of this season of Survivor (I’ll be blogging about that now too!), my overall laziness, and this obnoxious cold that has infiltrated my life. While my cold isn’t severe enough to keep me from going into work (talk to me tomorrow), it is just annoying enough to cause me to lapse into coughing fits at the most inopportune moments, like in the middle of the night when I’m trying to sleep or when I’m talking to a coworker or during the final speeches of the final two at the finale of Big Brother (that phrase was quite conclusive, eh?).

If you do go to work, wear "moccasins" that are really slippers. Also, make sure no one is watching you take pictures of your feet at your desk.

If you do go to work, wear “moccasins” that are really slippers for extra comfort. Also, make sure no one is watching you take pictures of your feet at your desk.

So in preparation for what this cold has the potential to turn into, I have come up with five tips on how to maximize a sick day (when you are, in fact, actually sick and not just trying to get out of something.):

1. Pajamas.

Hands down, the most important decision you will make when you are sick is what clothing to spend the day in. My advice? Layer, layer, layer. Especially if you have a fever, you will go from freezing cold to boiling hot in no time. My personal preference are my Drew sweatpants, my brother’s Bucknell basketball shorts that I stole, my “I Hit a Homerun at Gary’s Bar Mitzvah” t-shirt, and my boyfriend’s Broncos hoodie that I also stole. We’re not going for aesthetics here, people. If you do a sick day right, the only people who should see you are people you happen to live with, which in my case are my parents. Which brings us to our next tip…

2. Spend the day wherever your mom is.

Or by someone who will make you soup and not care about your melodramatic whining about how you feel like you’re dying. In college, Kaely made me Cup Noodles a few times when I was sick and my mom couldn’t take care of me. She’s a good friend.

The nutritional value is astounding.

The nutritional value is astounding.

3. Put a tissue box and garbage can next to your bed.

We’re working on the assumption here that you are dealing with a head/throat/coughing/snotty kind of illness, not a pukey one. Although I suppose having the garbage can next to you will help in that situation as well. Instead of throwing gross tissues on the floor or something, throw them directly into the garbage. You will appreciate it later. Sanitation is key.

4. Watch a movie that makes you happy.

Don’t watch something you’ve never seen. Sick days are times for those movies you’ve seen so many times you can recite them. You want to be able to fall asleep in the middle and not feel the need to rewind when you wake up. For me, it’s Matilda or Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Feel free to take those suggestions, but don’t you dare watch James and the Giant Peach or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Not all movies based on Roald Dahl books are made equal.

Willy, good. Charlie, bad.

Willy, good. Charlie, bad.

5. Get something fluffy to cuddle.

Dog, cat, stuffed animal, sloth, or polar bear. It doesn’t matter what you choose, as long as you have something soft to make you feel better and keep you company as you watch anything in the world but the Tim Burton version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

My usual fluff ball of choice.

My usual fluff ball of choice.

In addition to the above, it is important to drink lots of tea, eat lots of soup, sleep as much as possible, and take frequent showers (helps you breathe and make you feel like you are escaping the germ). Just ride it out, you’ll be fine. No matter how much you whine, you aren’t dying. Unless you are dying, and then…well, sorry about that.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

9 thoughts on “How to Maximize a Sick Day

  1. I can picture you now, wearing your Gary’s Bar Mitzvah t-shirt and eating Cup Noodles- which btw is easily the world’s greatest cure-all. Hope you feel better!

  2. Feel better, bro! Definitely agree about “Willy Wonka” versus “Charlie”… there can only be one.

  3. Pingback: A day in the life. | Honesty Time

  4. Pingback: One of those days | Honesty Time

  5. Pingback: Rainy Day Favorites | Honesty Time

  6. Reblogged this on Truths with Lori and Allyssa and commented:

    In honor of the sickness that has infiltrated my life this week, I’m reblogging this old Honesty Time post from a few years ago. It’s kind of astounding to me how much the individual details of my life have changed since I wrote this, but the essential idea is the same: being sick sucks, but there’s are ways to feel better even when you can’t stay home from work.

Be Honest!

