Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

To Be On a Reality Show

1 Comment

Hey Bloggy Friends! Before I start my post I’m going to go ahead and introduce our little project on Honesty Time for the month of October.

We’ve always been intrigued by those “Monthly Blog Challenges” that people do. You know, the ones where you’re challenged to write something every single day, on a variety of random topics that may help to refresh your creativity and bloggy writing mind. 

We also really like those old livejournal/myspace/xanga survey things that ask a million random and crazy questions.

So let’s combine these ideas, and keep our once a week schedule, and turn the entire month of October into a Blog Challenge!

Calendar police, I know it’s not October yet but we wanted an even 4 weeks for everyone. So, deal with it.

Ready? Here we go!

 

If you could be on a reality show, which one would you choose?

My life belongs on a reality show. I’ve said this before, and I’ve had may people agree with me. Between the family hijinks, my job, and my life being ruled by Murphey’s Law, I believe the show would be a hit.

I’m not rich enough to be on Bravo TV, which is a shame because holidays and other occasions with my family look a whole lot like The Real Housewives of New Jersey.

My grandma cooks a feast if you just stop over to drop off some yarn.

Everyone stops speaking to one another if you forgot to invite someone to Rita’s.

And Christmas preparation starts in October. That also means the fighting over what food to make, how much to make, how many desserts to bring (an entirely separate category, not to be confused with food), where we’re celebrating, and who is invited. Everyone is invited, naturally. But will they all come? Worse, will the in-laws come? Oh sweet lord, the manicotti will hit the fan if the in-laws come.

Thankfully, there are no brawls and no shifty money issues. But, you know, we have potential.

However, due to the inclusion of cats and my wish to one day live on a lot of land that eventually turns into an animal sanctuary complete with cats, horses, dogs, goats, and hopefully a sloth, but also including my love for sales and thrifting, I feel as if I’m more of a case for TLC.

If Honey Boo Boo could get her own show about everything and nothing at all, why can’t I?

In all seriousness, if I were to be on any reality show, I wish it would be Face Off on SyFy.

Everyone knows that I own and wear a whole lot of makeup. It’s a hobby and an obsession. I eventually started learning how to apply theatrical makeup when I was in college. It’s really awesome and something I wish I were better at doing. I can’t afford to take classes, so I have to practice on my own with whatever supplies I can afford.

It’s an expensive hobby, yo! Especially if you get into making molds and fancy prosthetics. It’s insane.

I am not a very good artist. I can’t draw that well,  something necessary to be good at makeup arts. However, I know that it just

(Cyborg photo from SyFy. Makeup by Nicole Chilelli)

(Cyborg photo from SyFy. Makeup by Nicole Chilelli)

takes a lot of practice and patience, right? Hopefully. I need to spend time practicing my sketching anyway since I need to do costume sketches for work. Maybe that will help my artistry so I can do things such as, you know, apply/fill in two similar, symmetrical eyebrows on a person, or sculpt to make prosthetics, or be able to do body painting, etc.

I have the rest of my life, and as I mentioned in a previous post, sometimes you just have to go for it and try and make yourself

better. I’m never going to learn just by dreaming and wishing.

I’m always inspired by season 3 winner, Nicole Chilelli, who competed fiercely, even with fibromyalgia. It can be done if you just work hard and believe.

Here’s some work from  just a few of my other favorite artists from the current season of Face Off and seasons past.

 

(Image courtesy of SyFy. Work Done by RJ Haddy in a Tim Burton themed challenge)

(Image courtesy of SyFy. Work Done by RJ Haddy in a Tim Burton themed challenge)

RJ Haddy – the “crazy” mad scientist who always works with a touch of playfulness and a lot of heart.

 

Laura Tyler – a true artist whose works belong in a gallery. They

(Image from SyFy. Photo by Brett-Patrick Jenkins. Makeup by Laura)

(Image from SyFy. Photo by Brett-Patrick Jenkins. Makeup by Laura)

are both inventive and stunning.

 

Eric Fox – His work always has a creepy touch, bordering on gruesome in all of the right ways, and he’s not afraid to go big or go home. Check out this makeup for a black light challenge. All of those clear prosthetics were risky, but the final effect was worth the worry.

(Image from Syfy. Photo by Brett-Patrick Jenkins. Makeup by Eric Fox)

(Image from Syfy. Photo by Brett-Patrick Jenkins. Makeup by Eric Fox)

 

So if I’m ever on Face Off, it’s because I have reached a skill level to be proud of. And that’s a much more fulfilling reality show than having my family argue like The Real Housewives.

Until then, I’m just going to continue watching Face Off and following some of my favorite artists from the show, and shamelessly tweeting at them during the show every Tuesday.

#yolo.

(Sorry.)

 

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

One thought on “To Be On a Reality Show

  1. I’d watch the crap out of a reality show starring your family.

    Thanks for writing the intro to blog month. I almost forgot about it.

Be Honest!

