Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

5 Fictional Characters I’d Have Dinner With

2 Comments

This post is dedicated to my sister Keri, who I didn’t actually know reads my blog. You are a better person than me. I wish you were fictional so you could come to this dinner party.

Which five fictional characters would you have dinner with?

This was a lot harder to narrow down that I thought it would be. I came up with a list of 20 characters from my favorite movies, books, and television shows. Picking just 5 of those 20 was nearly impossible. But ultimately I decided to pick the people that I thought I’d want to actually hang out with in real life, and who would have a good time hanging out together.

As an English major and writer, you’d probably expect this to be a lot more literary than it actually is. But why the hell would I want to spend an evening with Mr. Darcy or Romeo when I could hang out with Willy Wonka or Barney Stinson?

Anyway, here’s my top 5, in alphabetical order:

Cory Matthews (Boy Meets World)

cory-matthews

If I could, I would have dinner with the entire cast of Boy Meets World. But I decided I would only include two characters in my top 20 and one in my top 5. As much as I absolutely adore Mr. Feeney (and the rest of them), I had to pick Cory for this dinner. Why? Because in real life, Cory and I would probably be best friends. And the fact that I have memorized every detail of his life wouldn’t creep him out in the slightest.

G.O.B. (Arrested Development)

gob-bluth

I love G.O.B. He is my favorite character from Arrested Development, and that’s saying something. He is just so goofy and dumb and hilarious. And I know his family hates his magic tricks, but at my dinner party, magic is not only encouraged, it’s required. I bet him and Luna would have a grand time teaching each other tricks. And Franklin would be invited too, of course.

J.D. (Scrubs)

dr_john_jd_dorian

Just like with Cory, it is my life’s goal to be best friends with Dr. John Dorian. Actually, Cory and J.D. are really similar. I’ve never noticed that until now. I feel like that probably says something about me, but now’s not the time for that kind of psychoanalysis. Scrubs is one of my favorite shows ever. J.D. is one of the funniest characters ever. I want to sing “Guy Love” with him. I want this to be our relationship. Don’t worry, Turk made the Top 20 too. I’ll be best friends with both of them.

Leslie Knope (Parks and Recreation)

Parks & Recreation

Leslie Knope is my hero. I want to work in the Pawnee Parks Department. I wish I could be Ann Perkins just so Leslie Knope would want to hang out with me all the time (also, I’d look like Ann Perkins). This is probably the funniest show on TV right now, and Leslie is one of the best characters. We would eat waffles and talk about how adorable Ben Wyatt is and it would be perfect.

Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter series)

Luna-Lovegood

I love Luna. She’s such a weirdo. She’s definitely one of my favorite characters in my favorite book series. I love how confident she is in her weirdness. I feel like she would fit right in with the rest of the gang I’m assembling for this meal. And you know damn well that Cory, G.O.B., Leslie, and J.D. would be avid readers of The Quibbler.

Oh, wait. This dinner actually happened….

And because I like to cheat at games like this, here’s the rest of my list:

  • Albus Dumbledore (Harry Potter series)
  • Arya Stark (Game of Thrones)
  • Barney Stinson (How I Met Your Mother)
  • Belle (Beauty and the Beast)
  • Doc Brown (Back to the Future)
  • Harriet M. Welsch (Harriet the Spy)
  • Jim Halpert (The Office)
  • Katniss Everdeen (Hunger Games)
  • Matilda (Matilda)
  • Mr. Feeney (Boy Meets World)
  • Ron Swanson (Parks and Recreation)
  • Troy Barnes (Community)
  • Tyrion Lannister (Game of Thrones)
  • Turk (Scrubs)
  • Willy Wonka (Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory)

Which five (or twenty) fictional characters would you invite to dinner?

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

2 thoughts on “5 Fictional Characters I’d Have Dinner With

  1. I would like to be invited to your dinner party, and I will reciprocate by inviting you to my fictional dinner party with the following characters (off the top of my head, and somewhat inspired by you and the things surrounding me at the moment):

    Andy Dwyer and April Ludgate (Parks and Rec)- hopefully they will bring a marshmallow gun
    Jessica Day (New Girl)- we will wear polka dots and do arts and crafts after
    Jude (Across the Universe)- because, duh, I love him
    Steven Colbert (The Colbert Report)- and we can all debate whether or not he is a fictional character
    Buddy the Elf (Elf)- and I will serve him candy, candy canes, candy corn, and syrup, or possibly pop-tarts crushed up on top of spaghetti

    I’m slightly embarrassed that I can’t think of any characters from books, but I think the real problem is that I have a harder time accepting that book characters are fictional (and not actually my friends) and this will never really happen.

    • I love your guests and I think our dinner parties should unite into one mega dinner party. I think we can agree that Stephen Colbert plays a fictional version of himself on his show, so he can qualify.

Be Honest!

