Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Brothers & Sisters

2 Comments

The thing I love most about having brothers and sisters is…

Having built-in, lifelong best friends.

I am the youngest of four kids. I may not know what it’s like to be an older sibling, but I sure do know what it’s like to have them.

It's mostly like this.

It’s mostly like this.

My sisters Keri and Kimmi are about 10 and 6 years older than me, respectively. My brother David is 3 years older. When we were younger, this age difference, at least with my sisters, seemed huge. Keri went to college a few weeks before I turned 8 and started third grade. I was 12 when she moved out of the house. She was born in the 70s, while the rest of us are 80s babies.

Kim and I have on sweet matching dresses.

Check out mine and Kim’s sweet matching dresses.

Having said that, my siblings and I are incredibly close, and have only gotten closer as we’ve gotten older. When I was younger, I just assumed that that was the way that siblings are. Sure, you may fight from time to time or get annoyed with each other or maybe your brother drops a spoonful of chili on your head at dinner one night, but you still love each other. Apparently, however, not everyone has as close of a relationship with their siblings as I do, and that only makes me appreciate it more.

I've never looked more like a boy in my entire life.

I’ve never looked more like a boy in my entire life.

I know that no matter what, I always have at least three people in my life that I can talk to about anything, trust to give me good advice, and talk about farts with. They have all managed to turn into respectable, successful adults, so it’s nice to know that one day I might be that too.

I feel like everything I know about anything, I learned from one of them. This is a short post because there’s not that much more to elaborate on: the thing I love most about having siblings is that I have my siblings, and that’s pretty damn special.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

2 thoughts on “Brothers & Sisters

  1. BEST.POST.EVER. You’re my favorite little sister and we are all very lucky to have each other. Did you write this post just to see if your awesome siblings are keeping up with your blog? At least one of us is, so that’s pretty good odds. I’m sorry about the time I posted a for sister sale sign on our bedroom door. I’m really glad no one bought you.

Be Honest!

