Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

My iTunes Top 5 Countdown

3 Comments

Okay, so I’m beginning to write this post without having checked yet what are the top 5 most played songs on my itunes.  I’m pretty excited about this prompt, but am also slightly worried that it’s going to be embarrassing.  So, I’m here to tell you that I’m going to be honest (get it, honesty time) no matter what the songs are, and I will do my best to offer an explanation.  So here we go…

5) Hesitating Beauty- Wilco (63)

Now that I see this list, I realize that most of these songs I listened to the crap out of in high school and the beginning of college and haven’t listened to as much recently with pandora and you tube and other methods of getting free music.  But anyway, I like this song, it makes me happy.  I wish that someone would write me a song the way that Wilco wrote this for Nora Lee.

4) Norwegian Wood- The Beatles (89)

This one puzzles me a bit, it’s a cool song, and I like the sitar, but I wouldn’t say that this is my favorite song from the Beatles. It’s cool though, very mellow.  I think that this is a running theme in my top 5 most played songs.  Foot five!

3) Free Fallin’- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (94)

I am honestly surprised (and impressed) that I’ve listened to this song more than the John Mayer version (Rachel, you know).  This is a good song, it’s never the wrong time for this song.  Although, I am a bit surprised that I haven’t listened to American Girl more, I really like to sing along to that one.

2) The Cave- Mumford & Sons (107)

I really like Mumford & Sons, this and Little Lion Man were the first songs of theirs that I really listened to a lot.  I bought Babel on iTunes when it came out, and I think at this point I’ve probably listened to those songs just as much, if not more than this one.  Right now I still love, Lover of the Light.  But this is a good one too, and I’m glad that I’m listening to it right now as I write this.

1) Sunrise- Nora Jones (118)

This I find very surprising, in a good way.  I must have listened to this song on repeat when it first came out, and then never again since.  I actually forgot that this song really existed until just now, butI really do like it.  Nora Jones has a sexy jazzy voice and I wish that I sounded like this.

So there you have it, my top 5 most played songs on iTunes.  Surprisingly mellow, surprisingly not including Party in the USA. As a reflection of me as a person, I imagine that this either means that I am very mellow, very boring, or very stressed out and therefore listen to really soothing music to try to soothe myself.  Most likely a bit of each.  What do you guys think?  Are you surprised by this?  What’s everyone else’s top 5?

3 thoughts on “My iTunes Top 5 Countdown

  1. I miss you serenading me with “Free Fallin'”…the good ole days…also a little surprised there’s no “Down” or “Air Force Ones” on here. They should definitely be at the top of the list.

  2. My top 5 songs are “All I Need” by Mat Kearney, “Thanks That Was Fun” by the Barenaked Ladies, “Fidelity” by Regina Spektor, “Where are You Going” by Dave Matthews, and “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz. I did just get a new computer so it doesn’t reflect more than the past couple months, but I think this shows that our lives really are the Mellow Show.

    Vegan cookies.

  3. My top 5 on iTunes are all from the show Smash, Mumford and Sons, and one Hercules song, because they’re the only songs on my iPhone, which is where my iTunes gets my play count from. That’s kind of sad.

Be Honest!

