Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Fictional Villains

7 Comments

Who Is Your Favorite Fictional Villain?

For the longest time (aka all week) I had no idea how to answer this question. I have so many favorite fictional villains. Without villains, there would be nothing to fight, no conflict, and even the most fantastic stories would be lame and lacking. A story where absolutely everything goes right isn’t really so stimulating or worthwhile to me.

So I thought I would make a long list of all of the villains I have ever loved.

Oh yeah, another long list post from me because I’m way too indecisive to make up my mind about anything.

(This is why I have no tattoos and never will, by the by)

Then, on a typical Saturday night full of FaceTime, cats, and my bed (I’m wild and out of control, you know), I couldn’t get my lazy butt out of bed to put Beetlejuice into the DVD player, so I turned on Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, which, thank you HBO, is almost always on TV, and suddenly I was all:

LIGHTBULB. DUH.

Lord Voldemort. You-Know-Who. He Who Must Not Be Named.

Mary GrandPré / Art Insights Gallery

Mary GrandPré / Art Insights Gallery

This legendary, despicable shadow of a man is my favorite Villain with a capital V.

But. Me being me, I also have a runner up, so that’s at the end of this post. Don’t worry.

Back to Voldy Voldy Voldemort. Why is he my favorite?

Obviously, Honesty Time has a bit of a Harry Potter obsession. “A bit” is, of course, an understatement.

Voldemort’s mere existence drives this entire series forward, and without him, my favorite book series about life, love, friendship, growing up, and more, might not exist as it does.

Voldemort was not just a shallow bad guy. We learned all about Voldy’s life as Tom Riddle, too. Though Tom had never been an angel, we at least learned that he was a top student. Not saying that it’s ok to be evil as long as you get that 4.0, but I liked that he wasn’t full of dumb luck, or a bumbling idiot of a bad guy. Everything he did was calculated. The Goblet of Fire and that portkey at the end of the maze? That took MONTHS UPON MONTHS of planning. And I like planning.

And Voldemort kept a diary. His soul was in his diary. Everyone knows that diaries, or some record of life’s thoughts, are truly important. Smart fellow.

I’m not sticking up for Voldy. I’m just glad that this villain was clever, deep, and never gave up.

He was also nice enough to almost always wait to attack or whatever until the end of the school year. This meant that the students were able to have an effective year of education, but they never had to take final exams. Thanks, Voldy.

My runner up is Ursula from The Little Mermaid. She deserves to be on this list because as a child, apparently one could not even mention this movie because I would cry and freak out just remembering Ursula.

This past May I saw the revamped production of The Little Mermaid at Papermill Playhouse, which was pretty darn good. No awkward roller skates, a colorful set with amazing lights, truly electric Flotsam and Jetsams, Nick Adams (with a ratchet ponytail, though womp womp) and Jessica Grové, and Liz McCartney as Ursula.

I never realized just how fierce Ursula was until Liz brought down the house with her belt-tastic “Poor Unfortunate Souls.”

Not to mention Ursula is purple, which is my favorite color. The best color.

Scott Leiendecker, Liz McCartney and Sean Patrick Doyle (Scott and SPD sang my other fave song of the night “Sweet Child” – awesome harmonies.) Photo by Billy Bustamante, from Playbill.com

Scott Leiendecker, Liz McCartney and Sean Patrick Doyle (Scott and SPD sang my other fave song of the night “Sweet Child” – awesome harmonies.)
Photo by Billy Bustamante, from Playbill.com

Here’s Sherie Rene Scott singing “Poor Unfortunate Souls” because there are no videos of the Papermill production floating around. Sad.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

7 thoughts on “Fictional Villains

  1. Voldemort’s my fav too. He really had good qualities, just used in the wrong way.

  2. Great Villain Choices. I totally agree that Voldemort is one of the best villains there is. 🙂

    ~Aspen

  3. Pingback: Disney Jams | Honesty Time

  4. Pingback: Favorite Villains | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

