Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Where Would I Live?

1 Comment

If money & jobs weren’t a factor, what 1 place in the world would you live?

It might be difficult to pick just one place in the entire world, especially since money and jobs do not factor in at all.  I would really love to vacation in Sweden, but I am not sure if I would want to live there.  I feel as though the learning Swedish would be incredibly difficult for me, languages are definitely not my thing, and because it is so far up north, I imagine that it gets incredibly cold.  Cold weather is not the best.

photo (1)

These are just me and my cousins and my grandfather

That being said, I think my choice would have to be Italy.  I have wanted to go to Italy since as long as I can possibly remember.  My mother’s side of the family is 100% Italian.  You can definitely tell too.  I would love to go to the country where the majority of my family has originated.  I think it would be amazing to see the country where my great grandmother traveled to America from, even though it was close to 85 years ago.  I feel as though living in Italy would give me a deeper appreciation for that country in which I feel so close to already.

We keep things pretty traditional to Italian style. We try to stick to having “pasta Sunday” which consists of having pasta for dinner.  During holidays, especially Christmas Eve, we have a huge feast.  Food is brought to the table at around 2pm and courses continue until around 9pm.  Then, of course, you have dessert. Apparently it is some traditional superstition to have an even amount of desserts on the table, so my family keeps it to a modest amount. By modest, I mean this includes anywhere from 7-13 different types of deliciously wonderful Italian desserts and cookies.

sistine-chapel-ceiling-creation-of-adam-1510

I can’t wait to see the Sistine Ceiling in person

Colosseum_in_Rome,_Italy_-_April_2007

The gorgeous Colosseum

So Italy is an obvious choice because of family ties, but I would also love to live there for the art.  I graduated college as an Art History major with a concentration in Italian Renaissance and Italian Baroque art.  Needless to say I truly love the art style.  Being in Italy, I would finally be able to experience all the art that I studied 4 years of my life in person.  I would be able to experience all of it at my convenience if I lived there.  I could see Bernini’s masterpieces multiple times, including the Vatican’s design.  I could spend time inside the Colosseum. I can see Michelangelo’s Sistine Ceiling.  I could travel to Florence to see Michelangelo’s David, I could see the gorgeous Four Rivers Fountain. I can see multiple Da’vinci pieces.  The list literally continues on forever. Not just sculpture, but paintings, architecture, and so many other rich cultural experiences that would be at my fingertips.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

One thought on “Where Would I Live?

  1. I want to go to Italy too. I’m half Italian, don’t understand a word of the language, but would gladly live there. Let’s go.

Be Honest!

