Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Favorite Quote

Leave a comment

Favorite quote (from a person, from a book, etc) and why you love it.

Salvador-Dali2

Dalí…Mustaaachheeee

My favorite quote, which I actually want tattooed on my body at some point, is one from the great Salvador Dali.  Dali once said, “Have no fear of perfection.  You’ll never reach it.” 

persistence_of_memory_dali_lowestres

The Persistence of Memory

This quote really seized every ounce of my attention as soon as I heard it.  For those of you who are not familiar with Dali’s work, he was a surrealist artist.  His work, my favorite from that time period, depicted some well-known stories in bizarre, but remarkable ways.  However, his most recognizable paintings would be the depiction of pocket watches that seem as though they are melting away.

I really can’t say what he meant specifically by the quote.  Dali was quite the strange character so it could have related to almost anything.  Was it in reference to the way he chose to depict his subject matter?  Or was it the way he chose to live his life?  I really wish I knew the answer to those questions.  I do, however, know what the quote means to me.

I love this quote for a number of reasons.  First, being an “artist” I am constantly setting my standards higher and higher, at an almost unachievable rate.  I am my own worst critic.  Sometimes I feel the need to obsess over the smallest line and the smallest piece of shading.  But, then I realize that I am the only one obsessed with the small crooked, or inaccurate line, probably because I am the only one who notices.  “Have no fear of perfection.  You’ll never reach it.”  When will good enough be good enough for me when it comes to my work?  I must say having the quote in the back of my head constantly does help.  It makes me relax, take a step back, and stop obsessing over something that will make me absolutely crazy for no reason.

Another reason I love this quote is because I am able to relate this to my life in general. Before I started losing weight, I always thought that I had to do it in a certain amount of time, or that when I did I would instantly notice the difference.  Whatever the case may be, I was striving for perfection in this instance as well, but for whatever reason I was still not achieving it in my mind.  This is when I realized that everyone has his or her own idea of “perfection.”  Of course perfection in any case is nearly impossible to reach, it is important to set your own idea of attainable perfection.  Sure, it may not be perfect to everyone.  Others may have a higher standard of perfection and nit picks everything about whatever you are striving to achieve.   I think in these cases, it is important to remember you will never make everyone happy and you will never achieve true perfection to everyone”

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

