Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Happy Halloween!

3 Comments

Share a memory from your favorite Halloween.

I love Halloween. I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite holiday because that honor goes to Thanksgiving, but it’s definitely number two. I love candy and friends and costumes and ABC Family’s 13 Days of Halloween. It’s all so much fun.

I didn't have the energy to  dig out any other pictures from my childhood Halloweens, but here's one from fourth grade.

I didn’t have the energy to dig out any other pictures from my childhood Halloweens, but here’s one from fourth grade, 1998

I went trick-or-treating every year until I graduated high school. Since starting, and finishing, college, it has become more of an excuse to get together with friends and go to parties and drink.

Kaely the Devil and Lori the Bee on our first college Halloween

Kaely the Devil and Lori the Bee on our first college Halloween, 2007

I have so many amazing memories from Halloween. From Halloween parades in elementary school to the Halloween soccer tournament my soccer team did every year to trick-or-treating as teenagers with absolutely no shame that we might be too old. I’ve dressed as a cat, a bumblebee, a turkey (yes, a turkey), a devil, a rag doll, a cowgirl, Tiger Lily from Peter Pan, Winnie the Pooh, a Blue Barracuda from Legends of the Hidden Temple, Fulton Reed from The Mighty Ducks, an 80s girl, Quailman from Doug, a crayon, Superman, and this year, I went as Alvin and the Chipmunks with Kaely and Allyssa.

Legends of the Hidden Temple

Legends of the Hidden Temple: Halloween 2008

How do I choose one year to be my favorite?

Logically, you would think I’d pick a Halloween from my childhood. And I do remember loving Halloween every year, but all of the years kind of blend into one. There isn’t one specific time I remember better than another.

Well, maybe because it’s so recent in my memory, but I’m going to have to choose Halloween 2010, from my senior year of college. That was the year that Rachel and I went as Dean Portman and Fulton Reed, respectively, the Bash Brothers from the Mighty Ducks movies. The next night I went as a generic 80s girl. Halloween is never just one night in college.

The Bash Brothers and Snooki, BFFs.

The Bash Brothers and Snooki, BFFs.

So why was that year so great? Let me list the reasons:

  • It was the first Halloween I was 21. We didn’t acutally go to a bar (unless you count the Pub on campus, which I do not), but just the fact that I was finally 21 made everything better.
  • I got to be Fulton Reed. I mean, come on. What’s better than that?
  • They played Rocky Horror Picture Show on campus, which I had never seen before. I didn’t stay for the whole thing, but it was a blast to witness even part of it.
  • The year before I had been in London and we kind of just half-assed Halloween (although I do recall eating a giant pot of mac & cheese while dressed as Quailman and watching The Amityville Horror, so that was a good time). I was excited to be reunited with all my friends and really go all out for the holiday.
My impressive Quailman costume that I wore in London.

My impressive Quailman costume

  • I had recently discovered Sam Adams Octoberfest, and it’s probably my favorite beer.
  • I have a vague recollection of singing Backstreet Boys songs and quoting lines from Llamas with Hats, but, to be fair, that could have been any random day of senior year.
  • I tried to drink a blue martini in my friend’s room, but I learned that I should not be allowed to drink out of a martini glass as I promptly spilled it all over the floor. After dying my tongue blue, of course. Life lessons.
This is what blue curacao does to your tongue.

This is what blue curacao does to your tongue.

  • And the most important reason why this was the best Halloween: Allyssa and I befriended a random stranger at a party who claimed to be a professor at a different college, even though he looked about 16. He gave us the best advice I have ever received: We should always live our lives with “no guilt, no shame, and no punishment.”

When I look back at my favorite memories from college, that weekend is always on my list. There was something so very perfect about the entire experience, even though nothing specific necessarily happened. Maybe it’s so great because nothing really happened. That time was one of the happiest of my life, and that weekend encapsulates in my memory everything that was good about college: Friends, laughter, no stress, spontaneity, and fun.

And this is what post-college Halloween looks like:

Halloween 2011

Halloween 2011

Halloween 2012

This is what adult Halloween looks like.

Halloween 2013

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

3 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. That was a very good Halloween. That night Amanda and I saw an Epic Rap Battle break out! I almost forgot about “The Professor,” actually. Shame.

    • I totally forgot about the rap battle! Probably because I didn’t see it and I’m pretty sure that you and Amanda hallucinated it.

  2. Pingback: 101 Things I Love | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

