Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Football Day

Leave a comment

On October 20, 2013, this lucky girl was finally able to attend her very first professional football game.  That is right!  My very first game.  I could never really afford it before because tickets are always so expensive.  Plus, being a New England fan, not only is it difficult to find someone equally as passionate about the same team, but there is also a limited opportunity to see them here in New Jersey.  However, I made it my personal goal to see them play this year and I was finally able to pull everything together for the Jets vs. Patriots game.  I could not have possibly been any happier.  I was so excited that I actually wound up waking up at 7:30am and could not even find it remotely possible to fall back asleep.  Here is how my game day went.

7:30am: I wake up, as previously mentioned, and I am too excited to sleep.  So I make myself some coffee and take a shower.

8:30am: I decide I don’t want to spend whatever absurd amount of money they charge at the stadium for lunch, so I decide to make myself some filling oatmeal. Go me.

9:00am: I get dressed and do my makeup so I look like a human being.  I was worried I would be cold so I put on my Under Armour, you know just in case.  Luckily we had a beautiful day.  It was sunny, not too cold and not too warm.  Perfect game day weather.

10:00am: Obviously I had to wait to put on my Tom Brady jersey until right before I left.

10:20am: My friend picks me up and we are on our way!  But first, a necessary quick stop and Quick Cheq for cheap sandwiches and big bottles of iced tea.  We can pretend to tailgate when we get there.

11:00am: Yay! We are all paid and parked.  The smell of all the food cooking literally made me want to stuff my face.  Don’t worry, I some how managed to control myself.  We ate our sandwiches instead, drank our iced tea, and listened to a little pregame show on the radio.

11:30am: We decide to make our way over to the stadium.  We had quite a walk ahead of us.  Plus my friend works there so she was able to get us into one of the suites!  We wanted to meet up with her asap.

12:00pm:  We both finally meet up with my friend, who gave us the necessary bracelets we needed to gain access.  She is awesome might I add.

12:10pm:  Dude.  Those suites are absolutely gorgeous.  Also, because they are all inclusive, I got a free beer.  My choice was obviously Shocktop Pumpkin Ale…on tap…with a cinnamon sugar dipped rim.  It might have been the best drink I have ever had in my life.  So, so, delicious.

photo 3

This is at the entrance of our section. Our seats were much closer

12:15pm:  We stayed to watch warm ups from the suites.  So…this is what happened in my brain. Oh my god!  I am watching the Patriots warm up!  Holy crap!  This is Gronkowski’s first game back!  Wow.  Gronkowski is the biggest human being I have ever seen anywhere in life.  Oh look!  He is dancing during warm ups.  I want to hang out with him.  he looks fun.

12:45pm: We make our way to our seats.  Which might I add were way better than the suites.  Section 149 Row 17!  Oh yeah!

1:00pm: GAME TIME!

photo 1

So excited…that is Tom Brady!

After kick off happened, the rest of the game was watched in nervous anticipation. I did find out that Jets fans are terrible.  (That was the game that a guy punched two women in the face afterward in the parking lot.)  They are just really inconsiderate.  I had to tell one guy to actually use his seat…butt in the chair man!…and some big, huge Russian dude to stop hitting me in the head with his stupid towel.  Also, some lady also took advantage of my short height by using my shoulder as a resting table for her tray of greasy food, but that is okay. I was at the game!

We wound up losing that game in OT because of some new ridiculous penalty (which might I add, the Jets got away with on a previous play, but we got called for it when it actually mattered.)  That is perfectly okay though.  I got to actually attend a game, I was able to have access to the suites (i will never be able to afford a ticket like that), got a free beer, extra game for free, and I was able to see all of my favorite players on the actual field.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

