Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

What to wear…

1 Comment

Why is everything I have to do in November?  I know it may not seem like much but as of now I feel just slightly overwhelmed.  This week is my boyfriend’s cousin’s wedding, which I am happily attending.  Of course November is the month of Thanksgiving, which is not only quickly approaching, but I will changing things up this year by spending with my boyfriend.  Then my birthday, which I probably won’t do anything for is that Monday.  Following that, the first weekend in December is Kurt’s company Christmas Party.  So, so busy.  Do you know what all of these events mean?  It means I have to find something to wear.  This is a much more difficult task that one would assume.

Finding a dress and shoes is always way more stressful that it should been. For whatever reason, I still struggle with dressing my body.  Why? Maybe it is because I continue to make the same mistake which happens to be:

Buying a looser fitting dress/looser fitting clothes in general:  I still can’t understand how to dress myself.  I still bother poor Kurt, probably to death, about how things look. I swear to you it is not for self assurance.  It is honestly because I just don’t know.  I tend to think that most things will be too tight or too short. 9 times out of 10 I will shy away from form-fitting dresses. Maybe because of this mentality from the start, it winds up being my mentality even after I try it on.  All I know is that the looser fitting clothing makes me look larger than I actually am.  Boo.

Does anyone else have the same if not a similar problem?  Why is it so difficult to go dress shopping?  Does anyone have any helpful tips or tricks to use or even things to avoid when shopping?

Side-note: I wound up borrowing a dress from my cousin for the wedding. She went to so many Sweet 16 parties obviously meaning that she needed a new dress for each and every single event.  I think she had more of a dress selection than any store I went into.  Thank god for her.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

One thought on “What to wear…

  1. I hate clothes shopping as well. I can never find things that I think fit…I do the too loose thing too ;). Most trips I come home exhausted and empty handed.

Be Honest!

