Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

DIY Pom Pom Ornament

17 Comments

Hi there, Jew here.

I love the Pintester and I wanted to be involved in the Christmas Pintester Movement (link won’t be live until 12 a.m. EST on November 15). So I don’t celebrate the titular holiday. It’s never stopped me from eating Christmas cookies, so why should I let it stop me from making ornaments?

So obviously I don’t have a tree. I also don’t have a Hannukah bush because I refuse to believe that that’s a thing. I considered making something related to Hannukah. Then I considered making something related to Thanksukah (stop trying to make “Thanksgivukkah” happen. It’s not going to happen!) After discussing with Allyssa, I decided the most practical course of action would be to make an ornament that could double as a cat toy.

Cut to, me attempting to make a pom pom ornament:

from The Mother Huddle

from The Mother Huddle

Without reading the directions, I assumed I had all of the appropriate supplies. I didn’t. I own a giant bag of pom poms (because who doesn’t?) and ribbon and a glue gun, but no Styrofoam balls. By the time I actually sat down to do this (last night at about 7 pm), it was way too late and I was way too lazy to actually go out and buy a ball that I was going to cover in other fuzzier balls.

Bag o’ Balls

So I used a big pom pom and covered it in littler pom poms, of varying sizes. And what proceeded is probably best explained through pictures:

And the final result was pretty impressive:

Perhaps I should have picked pom poms of the same size?

Perhaps I should have picked pom poms of the same size?

So what’s the verdict? Well, it looks like a homemade ornament that maybe a 5 year old would make. And Willow didn’t seem to particularly appreciate it as a cat toy. However, she did find a good use for it:

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

17 thoughts on “DIY Pom Pom Ornament

  1. My cat would have that ripped apart in about a minute. Clearly you have a much more well behaved cat than I do.

    • She has her moments. About an hour after I took that picture of her sleeping, she was walking around house with the ornament in her mouth. If I hadn’t taken it away from her, I’d probably be finding pom poms in random places for weeks.

  2. That’s not bad, actually. Well done, bro.

  3. How cool! Very festive, and the kitty is precious. 🙂

  4. That is pretty cute. And my cat would love it as a toy and let’s be honest all ornaments can become cat toys pretty quickly…you know, the time it takes you to turn your back after hanging something up.

    • You are right about cats turning anything they can find into a toy (or food)…I had a cat that once ate tinsel off a Christmas tree. It was not pretty.

  5. I love the different sized pompoms. It makes it look like something organic that is morphing into a new life form… or else I watch too much science fiction.

  6. You’d be finding pompoms in her litter box, more precisely. Love your kitty.

  7. The two big pompoms on the bottom look like they are about to pop off and become their own pompom ornament…like in Gremlins. I like it!

Be Honest!

