Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Wanted: Healthy Habits

6 Comments

This here is my call for help. It’s that time of year when all I can think about is food. I mean, obviously I think about it all the time, but around the holidays, I just go nuts. I’ll literally eat anything that’s around. I’ll bake all the cookies and eat all the cookies. Really though, so many. And fudge. And pie. And leftovers. It’s all so good. But here’s the thing: I still go to the gym and ride my horse and while my clothes are only a little bit tighter at the end of the year, I don’t feel so bad because I’m at least still active. Right? Tell me I’m right.

Unfortunately, the timing of finally having surgery has fallen right smack-dab in the middle of the holiday season, the first week of December. With this surgery, I won’t be able to do anything for a whole month. But actually, I’m like really not going to be able to move around at all. At the beginning of January, I’ll probably start some light physical therapy. And hopefully, as long as things are going okay and the doctor says I can, I’m praying that I’ll be able to start some form of light workouts in February. Don’t worry, I’m not going to push myself just to get back to the gym and end up reinsuring myself. With all that I’ve gone through, the last thing I want to do is spend even more time trying to recover.

So here’s my issue. Because I can’t work out, ride, and basically walk around the house, and haven’t for at least the past month, I don’t like how I feel being so inactive. Granted, the choices I’ve made when eating haven’t contributed to me feeling better, and I’m afraid of going crazy with all this holiday food and not being able to balance it with exercise. Now, I’m not some crazy gym rat who burns more than what I consume, and I’m not even close to having some kind of eating disorder and body image issues. I just feel that I need to be healthier with what I eat during the time that I can’t do anything. I wouldn’t say it’s dieting, because I’m still definitely going to eat my three meals a day and then some. I’m just looking for some healthier eating options for while I’m on bed rest. I read magazines and articles online and all, but I want some other suggestions. Going to Florida in March is enough motivation for me to get this going!

6 thoughts on “Wanted: Healthy Habits

  1. I always feel healthier after drinking a green smoothie, even if I haven’t been to the gym! Plus, it might help cut back on the cookies? Ok, nothing can really make me cut back on cookies, but at least with smoothies you are getting in some good vitamins!

  2. I think portion control will be the key to being able to enjoy the good, sassy foods, but also keeping your health in check. Instead of, say, sitting down with all the cookies, be like “Ok, someone bring me ONLY THREE COOKIES AND DON’T COME BACK WITH MORE, NO MATTER HOW MUCH I BEG.” Don’t deprive yourself of the holiday goods just because of the timing of your surgery.
    Have lots of greens and whole grains. Maybe use this as a time to look for new recipes/foods to try.

    • The only thing with portion control in this house is that there really isn’t much of it haha but I will certainly have to be strong this time around. Green is going to have to be my friend when it isn’t the sweets.

  3. i saw this on pinterest: http://greatist.com/health/52-healthy-meals-12-minutes-or-less

    no idea if it’s any good or anything, but it might be worth checking out.

Be Honest!

