Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Love of a Dove

2 Comments

I’m going to go ahead and keep my crafty momentum going and start posting about all of my work adventures.

So, last week I debuted my lovely dove hand puppet. Diva Dove, as I have begun to call her as of 2 seconds ago, is a product of my job as costume designer, and set and property (props) coordinator at the school where I work.

The show we are doing is called The Love of Three Oranges by Hillary DePiano.

Not to spoil the whole thing or anything, but in the end of the play, one of princesses who comes out of the oranges (stay with me here…) turns into a dove by way of enchanted bobby pin.

Ah, fairy tales.

Ah, scenarios.

Ah, commedia.

The best way to achieve this, especially when you lack the Broadway technical abilities and budget, is by campily tossing a puppet towards the actress who plays the princess. She then puts on the puppet and “Transforms” right before your eyes!

Believe it or not, there are very few, if any, free patterns or tutorials for making bird hand puppets online. And free is awesome because my budget is far from awesome.

So I made my own. I just sat down with some white fleece and made it all up. I ended up going with a rather cartoony dove that isn’t as elegant as it actually is. I mean, geez, look at that head! That’s one giant, Disney-like head. But it was easier this way and it made me smile so you all just have to deal with that.

Here are some pictures of how I did it. Mouse over for captions!

The wings hold their shape thanks to cardboard inserts and were then covered in feathers. The eyes are black puffy paint and I colored the beak with highlighter. Budget. Yup.

Hopefully in a few weeks I’ll have some “in action” photos from the play. Our show goes up on Thursday and Friday and I just can’t wait for it to be over. I love designing, I love my kids, and I love the end product. However, I am sick yet again and I can’t wait for payday.

No, really. I can’t wait. I need the money. I’m so glad that I get to do what I love to get paid, but payday doesn’t come often enough.

 

Here are some other pictures of fabric and in-process costumes, mostly with cats. As you can see, I bought a lot a lot a lot of fabric for this one. And the girls loved all of the new fabric.

Thank you, Jo-Anns Fabric and Crafts for your amazing sales and customer service. Without you, I don’t know where I’d be. Seriously. Coupons. Love them. Loveeee theeeeem.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

2 thoughts on “The Love of a Dove

  1. Gotta love Joann’s coupons! Your dove looks great!

Be Honest!

