Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Creativity Issues

2 Comments

I really haven’t had the time to be creative recently and it is honestly starting to bother me.  I was really hoping that I would be able to start making more and more things leading up to the holiday seasons, but unfortunately it is only getting increasingly more difficult.  I usually like to give homemade gifts as presents during the holiday seasons, but I am thinking that won’t be possible last year.  Hopefully I will find time to make that change.  That being said, here were some of the homemade gifts I was able to make last year.

T-shirts:

There is a really great website called Zazzle that lets the creator customize nearly every aspect of design.  You can choose to create shirts, pajamas, and even underwear.  It is a little bit difficult to figure out how to incorporate your own drawings or designs, but luckily they have enough of a selection for everyone.  They even have Game of Thrones logos and icons.  Perfect for those obsessed with the television and/or book series.

Coasters:

This was probably one of the best gifts I was able to create.  I went to Lowe’s and purchased really nice 4×4 tiles.  It was perfect because they were only 0.60 cents a tile.  Basically what I am saying is this is a cheap and simple way to give loved ones and friends gifts for the holidays.  However, here is where it may get a tad difficult for some.  I wound up drawing the four main house sigils from Game of Thrones, which included the Lannister lion, The Stark wolf, the Greyjoy Kraken, and finally the Baratheon antlers.  I first started the sketches in my sketchbook with basic pencil, then traced that with marker.  Next, I traced the design on tracing paper, overlaid the tracing paper on transfer paper, placed that in the position I wanted over the tile, taped it down, and then had a faint outline of what I wanted to accomplish.  The final steps include tracing the faint line with a marker, completing the desired look, sealing the tiles so they are smudge proof, and finally applying felt pads to the bottom to prevent scratches on surfaces.  They were so much fun to make. I know you can transfer photos so maybe I will try that this year if I find the time

Custom Art:

I usually print large, high quality photographs for some of my family members as gifts.  I also frame them to look as professional as I can possibly achieve. In this way, I feel as if each member of my family is getting a completed work of art.  Then they don’t have to frame it themselves.  Last year I drew the Dishonored mask for Kurt, which took about a month to actually complete.  It was worth it because the end result was pretty amazing, if I don’t say so myself.

Like I stated previously, I really hope I can make at least one gift because I really love doing so.  I just actually have to find the time and, of course, the motivation.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Creativity Issues

  1. I like to give homemade gifts too, unfortunately I tend to think about it a little too late. My favorite so far were homemade marshmallows and homemade hot cocoa mix!

  2. I was thinking about gifts the other day. I feel like I’m just going to end up knitting things for the people I usually give gifts to. Yarn is cheap and homemade is meaningful.

Be Honest!

