Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Helpful (Hopeful) Tips

Leave a comment

With the holidays fast approaching, the anticipation of holiday food is making its presence.  I have been both excited and have also been experiencing a bit of trepidation.  I have been pretty good with sticking to my caloric intake, but as many of you know, holidays make that seemingly impossible.  So, in order to try to help myself, I have been trying to stick to these helpful tips I constantly repeat in my head.

Eat Small Portions

Do not, I repeat, DO NOT, overeat during the holiday.  I know that it is tempting and this is likely the only time of year you get to have some of this food, but trust me when I say this can only help.  I try to think about how crappy I feel if I do eat too much.  It is a feeling I am sure most have experienced and most will agree when I say it feels like death.  Keep that thought in your head before you pile more food on to your plate. Are you really that hungry? or as my mom would say “Are your eyes just bigger than your stomach?”  Just think…if you are actually still hungry after you finish the smaller portioned plate, I am sure there will be plenty left for second helpings.

Choose Wisely

Just because there are god only knows how many things on the table, doesn’t mean you have to have every single option. As stated in the previous tip, the goal is to not overeat.  Balance is the key this holiday.  Try to stick to having more veggies on your plate and less potatoes.  Pile on those veggies people!  They are yummy, filling, and good for your.  If you want you can even avoid all of the potatoes and stuffing, put the fresh veggies and white meat turkey on your plate and save some room for delicious desserts

Slow Down

I know that the food is absolutely delicious and you want to shove as much as you possibly can into your mouth.  But, if you eat too quickly, there is a good chance that your body will not recognize when it is full.  Eat like a human.  Take small bites.  If it helps, cut your food into smaller bite sized pieces.  This will help you slow down, because of all the cutting and it will also help you realize when you are actually full in the first place.

Hopefully I will be able to stick to these 3 simple rules myself.  I will let you guys know if my pants still fit after Thanksgiving.  Happy Turkey Day all 🙂

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

