Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Baked Apple Cinnamon Donuts

1 Comment

Happy Thanksgiving! Happy Hanukah! Happy Four Day Weekend!

Editor’s Note: I know that the internet has named this holiday Thanksgivukkah, but can’t we all agree to call it Thanksukah? That’s what I named it a long time ago. My family jumped on board. It just sounds better to me. It’s more equally balanced between the two holidays. Thanksgivukkah puts the emphasis on Thanksgiving, and that’s just rude.

And now we return to our regularly scheduled donut.

I usually make dessert for family gatherings, and this year I was looking for a dessert that encompassed both holidays in question. Anything involving apple or cinnamon is traditional Thanksgiving food. Jelly donuts (or rather, sufganiyot) are traditional Hanukah food. So I decided to combine the two, and make apple cinnamon donuts. I’ve never made donuts before, and honestly I’m kind of scared of hot oil, so I found this recipe for baked apple pie donuts, and I went with it.

It also helped that I also happened to have all of the ingredients in my house already, and laziness always prevails.

I put my boyfriend in charge of mixing all the dry ingredients while I battled my arch nemesis, the peeler.

The mix went from looking pretty disgusting to looking like vomit, so things were looking pretty hopeful.

1420463_10151982634196348_934914012_n

I was seriously not sure how this was going to turn out.

While it was baking, we got the melted butter, cinnamon, and sugar ready to dip the donuts in.

They actually didn’t look all that bad when they came out of the oven.

They didn't look that good either...

They didn’t look that good either…

And they looked even better once they were drenched in butter and sugar and cinnamon.

They actually tasted pretty good in the end. I was pleasantly surprised.

Happy Holidays, everyone.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

One thought on “Baked Apple Cinnamon Donuts

  1. They were delicious in case anyone was wondering. The thinly cut apples were the best part. Major props to the person who took the time and excruciating effort to peel and cut the apples.

Be Honest!

