Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Christmas Time

3 Comments

Christmas is right around the corner guys!  Even though I have been going through a bit of a rough patch, the thought of Christmas is making me decently happy.  I am going to try my very hardest to make sure I don’t have to work at the theater because I just know I will be a miserable beast of person if I do.  Anyway, on to happier things…I know I didn’t write a blog post last week when everyone talked about their traditions, so now is as good of a time as any.

To be completely honest with you guys, fellow bro Allyssa and I seem to have practically the same exact traditions.  I assume that is what happens when you come from a huge Italian family.  I will go through some of mine that differ.

The Christmas Tree: Every year, my house is usually in full christmas mode for my birthday on December 2nd.  I cannot remember a single time that my mom did not have the tree up and completely decorated.  I must give my mom the credit.. Even after all of these years, I am still surprised by what she can accomplish in such a short amount of time.  Most years the tree tends to have a theme.  We have boxes upon boxes of Disney ornaments, so some years we have a Disney themed tree.  Our other option is a snow baby tree.  I don’t know if any of you are familiar with the snow baby collection, but i must admit that theme is my favorite.  My grandma, who passed away while I was still young, used to give me them for Christmas without fail every year.  As stated previously, I was extremely young when she started and I am extremely grateful she did.  Every year that my mom decides to do a White theme or a Snowbabies theme, it makes me unbelievably happy.  It reminds me of my childhood, my grandmother, and all the great memories I managed to retain after all these years.  My mom has also continued to give me snowbabies every year since my grandmother’s passing.  I look forward to those boxes every time.  One day I will be able to have a tree of my own completely covered in them.

2013-12-10 20.33.46 2013-12-10 20.34.21 2013-12-10 20.33.33

Cookies:  Like Allyssa, my family also loves cookies.  Between my mom and her sisters, they try to cover as many traditional Italian cookies as they possibly can.  I will usually just make chocolate chips and oatmeals.  This is why we always have more dessert on the table during the holidays than actual food.

Christmas Eve: This day is always hectic.  I will most likely be working this day, which i must admit I honestly do not mind.  For as long as I can remember, I have been going to my dad’s house for Christmas Eve.  Last year was such a headache, I just have absolutely no desire to deal with it.  I miss my dad and I would love to see him during the holidays, but I just don’t want the added stress of how my brother and I are getting there and getting back home.  So this year, I will probably work during the day, then go to my aunt’s where we have the “Feast of 7 Fishes”

Christmas Day: I love this day.  It is usually pretty relaxing.  I usually wind up waking my brother up like the little kid I am to open gifts.  I just can’t wait!  I get way too excited.  Then we go to my aunt’s house, feast on lasagna, and open gifts with our close family.

I wish every day was as happy as Christmas day.

 

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Time

  1. Love the feast of seven fishes, although we do a modified version of that because we just get too lazy. Oh, and your mom’s cookies are the best. I think I need some.

  2. Pingback: Cookie Monsters | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

