Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Why People…Why?

Leave a comment

Happy Christmas Eve everyone!  I must admit I am unbelievably excited that Christmas is tomorrow.  I can’t wait to spend time with my cousins and finally have a day off of work.  Yes, unfortunately I am working a full shift today.  It sucks, but I really need the money.  Christmas time should be the one time of year where everyone is happy and joyous.  They should spend time with their family and be thankful for what they have.  Right?   Apparently not.

Is it just me or are people even more nasty then they should be during the holiday season?  I understand completely that not everyone celebrates Christmas, but why the hell are people so rude?  For me, I find it nearly impossible to be angry when I see bright lights, stockings, trees, and just all things that are merry.  Maybe some people don’t have souls.  I will give you readers just a few examples of people that I have dealt with on Monday alone.

 

A lady approached the stand and said

“Uhm hello!   Yeah is anyone going to start my movie?  It is FIVE MINUTES late!

Me: Ma’am, there is a 4 minute delay on all films.

Lady: “There is nothing! Nothing on my screen! “

Me: That is satellite feed ma’am.  We cannot control what comes through and what does not.  Like I said earlier, there is a 4 minute delay and your movie should be starting.

Lady waves her hand and walks away murmuring under her breathe.

Well, Merry Christmas and happy holidays to you too…

 

Before I tell this scenario, I must explain something first.  Our company has been offering $6.00 movie Tuesdays since the month of October.  We have a decently sized banner in our lobby to advertise it and everything.  However, this deal is not applicable for the holidays, which is stated in the small print on the bottom of the banner.  Okay, keep this in mind.

A woman comes to the box office and is complaining so naturally I am called to the front.  She wanted to purchase tickets for today because of the special $6.00 price.

Lady: “You have it advertised.  Therefore, you have to honor it.  You cannot, not honor it.  That is absolutely ridiculous”

Me: Uhm, ma’am that $6.00 pricing option is not applicable on holidays.  That is printed right on the banner.

Lady:  Scoffs “Tomorrow is NOT a holiday.  It just IS NOT.  That is absolutely ridiculous.  How can they say that is a holiday?”

Me: I can’t do anything other than relay information to you ma’am.

Lady: “Well Christmas is not MY holiday.  I just don’t understand why they think that it is a holiday.  Unbelievable.”

 

I really wish I could have told her to enjoy eternal damnation and that I hope she is consumed by a large fire.  But, instead I told her  “Enjoy YOUR holiday!”

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

