Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Old Time Photos

Leave a comment

So recently, I’ve been coming across some old family photos. Like, really old. Photos from when my grandparents were young. My aunt and uncle are moving out of their house and have found boxes of pictures that were divided up amongst the four siblings when my grandparents died. Of course, the thing with that is that once you get them, you go through them once, and then they end up back in storage. Since they’ve been cleaning out their house, they’ve passed along a ton of pictures to my family to see if we want any. I have to tell you, I’m fascinated by these pictures. Not only because I can put names to faces and locations that I’ve heard over the years, but it’s really opened my eyes to the life my grandparents lived when they were my age. You never really think of them that way, because, you know, they’re always just “those old people” to you…at least mine were. I was young at the time I was around them and they died just as I was entering my teenage years, before I could appreciate them and the lives they lived. I’ve also always been interested in photography (I’d love a nice camera even though I don’t have a great eye for it) and am kind of obsessed with Instagram, so this is like a crazy combination of the two. Great pictures, all in black and white. I’m hoping to get my hands on a few for myself to keep because there are so many. I’d like to be able to showcase them in the future in some sort of creative way. Any ideas would be welcome!

 

I love this picture of my grandfather. This was taken when he was in the army in Europe during WWII.

I love this picture of my grandfather. This was taken when he was in the army in Europe during WWII.

My grandparents being beautiful.

My grandparents being beautiful.

Another great picture of my grandfather in Europe. There are so many pictures of him in the mountains.

Another great picture of my grandfather in Europe. There are so many pictures of him in the mountains.

 

 

Be Honest!

