Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

(T)Werkin’ 9 to 5

2 Comments

It’s here! It’s here! Musical season is here! Anyone who works in a high school, especially in the drama or music department, knows that from now until late March is (semi) officially known as High School Musical Season. Spring musicals are all the rage and I have 2, possibly 3, to work on all in March. It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Right after Thanksgiving, the kids have auditions for the musical. This happens in both of my schools. In the 9 to 5 school, we then have a read through with the entire cast, all of the stage managers, the music director, the director, and myself. It’s always fun to see the kids start to get excited for the show. We have a lot of laughs.

The next step for 9 to 5 is the promo poster photo shoot. We have our kids in our posters instead of merely using graphics, so we get them all dolled up and have a professional photo shoot.

These kids are so lucky that they get to have a real photographer come in and take their photos. #SoBlessed.

So that’s tonight. So this weekend I went out and did my first round of shopping for the show, specifically for the 4 characters involved in the photo shoot.

Then this afternoon I went into the costume closet to fill in some of the gaps left by a hurried trip to the thrift stores.

My own personal hell is an unorganized costume closet, or a costume closet where I don’t yet know all of the inventory.

Thankfully, this closet is fairly organized and clean (though I swear that last April we left it MUCH cleaner…), but it’s only my second year working on this school’s musicals, so I haven’t memorized the inventory top to bottom.

Here’s what my afternoon in the costume closet looked like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also, keep in mind that is only one of our storage spaces. We have two crawlspaces of props under the audience and a large fan room behind the booth that houses many more boxes and racks of costumes.

Stay tuned for more musical updates in the future!

 

(ps. I’m sorry I said twerk. It’s just this thing the children have picked up. Instead of Working 9 to 5, they’re twerking 9 to 5. Another one of my personal hells.)

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

2 thoughts on “(T)Werkin’ 9 to 5

  1. My daughter went to a performing arts high school. Hurricane Charley destroyed every last item they had in their costume room, what a chore that was replacing everything. I think I dontated half my closet!

    • Oh no! That’s terrible but very nice of you to donate clothing. People in my family have stopped getting rid of their old clothing and instead they just give it to me now. It’s amazing what old stuff in our closets can turn into!

Be Honest!

