Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Life Is Hard…Sometimes

1 Comment

I think it is finally time to discuss what has been happening with my life the past couple of months.  I know recently I posted about how I was under construction and I am sure some where left wondering what on earth I was talking about.  During the month of December, I was actually going through a breakup.  I know what you readers are probably thinking.  Nearly everyone, in some way or another, goes through a breakup at least once in their lives.  Guess what.  It does not make it any easier, better, or whatever else.  It still sucks.  I am not going to go into detail about what events took place.  I will admit that I was a mess for quite a bit.  Food was unappealing, everything made me even sadder, some days I could not stop crying, and while I thought sleep would be a much needed break from these feelings, sleep would not come.  My mind would not shut off.  As soon as I laid in bed, I would just think of every single moment.  It was awful, everything was awful.  But, I promise those who are going through this now or feel like they might be in the future, it gets better.  Here are some of the things that I found helped me during my time of sadness tremendously.

Friends:  This topic is listed first because it is the most important.  When the initial “breakup” happens, however that might happen, you feel alone.  Especially if you were in a LTR (long term relationship), you wonder who will you turn to when you need someone to cry to, or who will you share those funny things you find on the internet with, or what will happen if something goes wrong.  Who will you call now?  Just think about it for a minute.  Let’s remember those who, chances are, have been in your life for a longer period of time.  That is right.  The group of people you call your friends are in your life for a reason.  They will be there for you in your time of need, sadness, happiness, and whatever else.  Lean on them.  Without them, you will never be able to function.  Call them, skype them, message, text, hang out, whatever you need to do.  They will get you through this.  Trust me.

Tv/Movies/Books: Remember all of those movies and/or TV shows you wanted to watch and the books you wanted to read, but never had the time.  Hey! Now you have the time!  I know it seems like a boring way to fill your time, but time actually flies by.  The best part about movies, tv, and books is that they keep your mind busy.  This way you are not constantly thinking about what happened.  You will be concentrating on what you are taking in and not what you could have done to prevent the things that happened.  Honestly, you cannot prevent some things.  So distract yourself for the time being.

Keep Busy:  It might seem like your world is going to end, but you need to get out of your house.  Go to work, hang out with friends, as previously stated, go to a bar, go buy something nice for yourself.  Anything.  I know that when I came to work, I was an absolute mess.  Everything made me cry.  Sometimes it felt as though I would never or could never stop crying.  Being in your house only makes it worse.  At least you can somehow do things at work or in public to take your mind off of it for the slightest of seconds.  And hey, I must admit I am pretty lucky to work with a couple of my best friends.  They did not care at all when I cried all over their nice work shirts.  Good thing because the Niagara Falls of tears was going to happen uncontrollably anyway.

 

P.S. I wanted to take this time to actually thank all of you (you guys know who you are) for being there for me.   I mean it when I say I would not be as happy as I am today without your support and true friendship and loyalty in my time of need.  I know we all say that we are there for each other whenever, but all of you truly proved that fact and went above and beyond.  Thank you for making me understand when I had no answers.  Thank you for shedding some light and making me see that things could have been worse.  Thank you for making me understand, that while it sucks for a bit, it will get better and that I was actually way better off it happened this way.  Thank you for making me laugh when all I wanted to do was cry.  And lastly, thank you for making me realize that I am worth it, I deserve better, and I have literally the best friends in the entire world.  I love you all and, this goes without saying, I am here for each one of you.  No matter what time, what issue or subject matter, all you need to do is call.

 

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

One thought on “Life Is Hard…Sometimes

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better, I admire you for writing about such a difficult experience! We’re still here for the tough days! 🙂

Be Honest!

